A day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 2nd 2014
Published: November 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

https://www.bookryanair.com/SkySales/Booking.aspx?culture=en-gb&lc=en-gb#Select

http://www.theoriginaltour.com/tour-information/tour-routes.htm

http://www.towerbridge.org.uk/TBE/EN/

http://www.activityvillage.co.uk/a-brief-history-of-london

http://www.timeout.com/london/shopping/rokit-1

http://www.timeout.com/london/shopping/rokit-1



27 october: I'm spending a few more days in Berlin. Going shopping in second hand shops, going out partying with Alice, meeting new people, enjoying life. But now it's time for me to go to my next stop: London. I've never been in London, really weird because I LOVE England. I'm in London 10.45 and realise that I haven't really planed what to do. Maby ride a tourist tour bus. To get a feeling of the cities biggest attractions. The bus leaves from Piccadilly Circus 13.00. The bus is a red double decker, typically for London. The guide is a girl in her a few years older than me with brown hair and dark skin "Hi my name is Sarah" she sais with a fantastic British accent. The tour goes on for 2h 15 minutes. I get to see the Big Ben, the Tour bridge, St. Paul's cathedral and a lot more. During the ride Sarah tells us about the attractions and also about the history of London. Pretty interesting actually. It was the Romans who actually build the city London after taking over England. Archaeological digs around the Thames have found weapons and a wooden bridge. London once burned down to the ground but was rebuilt with a protecting wall around the city. But as the Roman Empire was losing power they left the city. Since this time a lot of different things have formed the city to what we call London today. During the 18th century England had a lot to of power and in the 19th century they were a big part of the industrial revolution. There was big damages to London after the Second World War and it took a while to repair. "As you can see, these older buildings are surrounded by more modern ones" Sarah sais and points at a building we're passing by. "This is because of that the older building which stood here a long time ago was destroyed after the war and the modern buildings were built."



Ok now it's time for something I love. Shopping. I've looked up the best second hand shops in London. I go all over town to visit the best vintage shops, the best one in my opinion is Rookit vintage on Earlham street, I find a fantastic denim jacket and a green dress. I also go to Beyond Retro which is fantastic! I find a lovely pair of sunglasses there. Exhausted after the day I go my hostel called generator hostel, in the central part of London near Russell Square. The place is so cool, the rooms are really colourful, the people are so nice and the bar is the best! Unfortunately I'm only going to stay here for two days so I better enjoy the time. See you next week!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb