East London and the Southbank


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 18th 2013
Published: August 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Morning Clouds Over Tower Morning Clouds Over Tower Morning Clouds Over Tower

Always seems to be cloudy in London.
Not sure why my blog from yesterday just posted - I think something's been off with the website. But it seems to be fixed now.

Today was really all about East London, mainly its one really great sight, the Tower of London. Well, I don't know if I'd call it great. Honestly, I was very bored by this sight, and it seemed more like a cheesy tourist attraction than anything else. I'll be hated all over England for saying that. But what I mean is that I do truly appreciate the history here, with the wonderful White Tower, and all the history involving the beheadings and such. And, okay, the Crown Jewels are worth looking at. They're very pretty.

But... I'm going to be a true, unabashed American now. I found the perfect word for all of this monarchy stuff: silly. I can appreciate it, but I just can't value something that isn't earned. You're born a royal, you're born a queen or king, and really don't have a lot of choice in the matter. That just seems sad to me - what if you didn't want to be a royal? Yet America, to me at least, is all
The White TowerThe White TowerThe White Tower

The main tower of the Tower of London.
about becoming. Presidents aren't born, a person becomes a President, or really anything for that matter. America is about earning things. I'll probably be shot dead tomorrow for writing all of this, but that's one other thing travel brings - it usually really helps you see how your country is different, and how you're typically very proud of that difference. Looking at all of those silly crowns and jewels, I was very proud to be an American.

Leaving the Tower, I walked across the Tower Bridge (which most people think is London Bridge) and along the Thames on the Southbank. This is the underbelly of London, where all of the theaters were back in the day, the rules were loosened, and people basically came to just have a good time. This is where Shakespeare's Globe was, where most of his plays were performed. Nice area, and the walk along the Thames had great views of the more proper main part of London. And not to break my museum streak, I did briefly go to the Tate Modern, a wonderful place housed in all old power factory. My bum foot started to briefly act up, though, and this evening I
Execution Site Execution Site Execution Site

Famous spot, where Anne Boleyn, one of Henry VIII's wives, lost her head. The Crown Jewels are in the building in the distance.
got back early and have basically been relaxing since 6 or so.

Tomorrow I actually take a morning trip down to Canterbury to see its cathedral, before returning to London in the afternoon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

In the SouthbankIn the Southbank
In the Southbank

Can see why it's called Tower Bridge... right next to Tower of London.
Shakespeare's GlobeShakespeare's Globe
Shakespeare's Globe

This is not the original, which is long gone. A replica.
Back Across ThamesBack Across Thames
Back Across Thames

The Millennium Bridge, with St. Paul's dome in the background.


Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.2209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb