British Lay-over


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 30th 2012
Published: December 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Jamie Oliver @ GatwickJamie Oliver @ GatwickJamie Oliver @ Gatwick

My love awaited me!
Well, it looks like I have successfully "hopped the pond" to jolly ol' England! I had quite the flight over, 1 1/2 delays in Calgary thanks to de-icing and a sick passenger. 13 babies aboard the flight, no surprise 4 of them were directly in my vicinity. However the seat beside me stayed empty so I didn't even have to share my armrest! (a giant pet peeve of mine haha). For the first time in my life I also happened to experience some air-sickness, not particularly one of my finest moments, but what can you do? Europe and I seem to have a bit of a love/hate relationship when it comes to illness and food poisoning haha.

The arrival to the airport in London here has already been a bit of an adventure. I realized that I was one woman with a whole bunch of luggage so a "trolley" was necessary. Discovered I needed a pound, only had Euros. So I went to exchange my money. Then came back to the trolleys to realize I could have in fact just used a Euro coin haha. Threw the bags on and away I went.. sort of. Some how I managed to
Jamie Oliver @ GatwickJamie Oliver @ GatwickJamie Oliver @ Gatwick

My first taste back of deliciousness
grab a trolley with dysfunctional wheels. So after physically pushing the trolley for 10 mins I stopped to ask an airport worker. The kind gentleman then informed me that in fact it was an 'operator's issue' and I had to take the brakes off the wheels first.. WHO KNEW! Embarrrrrassing. However once I had the wheels rolling I was off and away, caught the "lift" up to departures, and when the doors opened I was pleasantly surprised to find:JAMIE OLIVER's FOOD TRUCK!!! I told my sister he would be here waiting for me 😊 I just knew my love would be here to await my arrival. And let me tell you, for a Brit, that man serves the best cappuccino I have ever had!
On advice from my brother-in-law, I decided to kill my lay over time by treating myself to a tradition English break: eggs & beans, with grilled tomatoes and mushrooms. I could not have asked for a more delicious way to start the day! These Brits sure know what a girl wants. I also decided to go full tourist and order English breakfast tea in ENGLAND! haha. A kind reminder from Ma was very helpful, always drink
Garfunkel's @ GatwickGarfunkel's @ GatwickGarfunkel's @ Gatwick

Eggys & beans. British breakfast done right
tea with pinky extended fully. I think the Queen would have been quite proud actually. I have no idea what I left the waiter for a tip, I decided all the British coins I had accumulated this morning would be of no use to me in Venice so I just left them all! I think it worked out to about 2 pounds? But how the heck would I know!
And now I am just sitting at Gate 113 at London Gatwick, awaiting my flight to Venezia! Thankfully only 3 hours this time, instead of 8 1/2 hours. This is a wonderful feeling. And I also did the wise thing and took some Gravol pre-boarding this time. I must say.. if these are to be my first taste of Italians: THEY ARE SO GLAMOUROUS! The elderly woman sitting beside me speaking rapid Italian is completely dressed to the nines, fully manicured nails, gorgeous blown-out hairdo. Prada bag. Christian Louboutin heels. At least my bright red "Wellies" have been a hit. Otherwise right now I am a very dishevelled Canadian haha. I was obviously quite sad saying good-bye just a few short hours ago in Calgary. But now that I am almost at my destination the feeling of pure excitement and anticipation is incredible! I am afraid I will blow up with joy before I even arrive hehe. Even as we drove to the airport yesterday I do not think it had fully sunk in just how big of a life change I was really making. But now here I am, alone in London and realizing that my life has just done a complete 180 degree turn. 4 months ago I had no idea I would be moving to Italy, Venice of all places! And then one fateful chance meeting with an incredible family, an incredible amount of paperwork, planning, and packing and here I am. I must admit that I was feeling very nervous, almost right up until the plane physically took off. But the minute the wheels left the tarmac, all those worries and anxieties slipped away and I felt for the first time in a long time that I am right where I need to be. This trip, this experience.. this is exactly what I need in my life right at this moment. If I had done it at 19, I do not know if I would have been ready. But now instead I feel like Audrey Hepburn in Sabrina, off to a foreign land to learn the culture, enjoy the cuisine and hopefully come back as one seriously refined Italian-speaking lady! The future is very bright indeed folks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb