By the way...the chilli's were awesome!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 24th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow what a weekend!

I am utterly exhausted after that!

Managed to mission it from aunt and uncles place in Cambridgeshire to London on the train equipped with large bag. That was a success in itself. Then managed to navigate my way to shepherds bush and stay with Wes who was an excellent host! He even cooked me a tasty dinner! Thanks Wes!

Friday afternoon was spent wandering round the markets and streets at shepherds bush. Once Wes got back we got some drinks and headed across to a nearby flat where there was a whole heap of kiwis living. Apparently shepherds bush is the place to be! Soon after we took the tube into central London and had wine on the banks of the Thames! More people joined and we then headed off to see Henry V at Shakespeares globe. Remember this is a midnight screening of Henry V (crazy cheap tickets so why not?!) and surprisingly there were lots of people there for this time.

The show was amazing and awesome and very cool. It was three hours long and did get quite cold at one stage (it's an open air theatre) but i am still so glad I got to see it. The actors were great, the costumes were great and they managed to make this play (a very involved history play) quite entertaining and even funny! I hadn't read Henry V before but they made it very easy to understand and fun to watch.

Got back at like 4am and had to get up at like 7 to get ready and make my way across town to catch the bus. Exhausting but so worth it. Red hot Chilli Peppers here we come!!!!!!

Met up with Matt, Anna and Rachel and we left London bound for Knebworth park. It was about an hour and a half away and once we got there we had to wait another couple of hours to be let in. The weather decided to be super mean and silly Alana was only in short shorts! I have to learn that summer in England does not mean you can dress this way, it means take a jacket everywhere!

The bands didn't start till 4 but the venue was real big and there were markets and stalls galore. The first bands to play were a bit lost on me as I had never heard of them before. The reverend makers anyone?! I was semi excited to hear the wombats play as I thought they would be an Australian band, but alas they were from Liverpool. Still ok I suppose...

By the time dizzy rascal played the crowd was massive. Everyone had arrived and it was packed out. Way more people than I think I have ever seen in one place before. The news reported it being like 80,000 strong!

Dizzy rascal was cool and we definitely shaked our tail feathers to that but when the Chilli's came on we all just went a bit nuts...

By now it was pouring with rain but thank god for our 2pound ponchos! Best thing I have brought here so far!!! Trendy and a great barrier against the wind and rain!

I don't even know where to start or how to explain what it was like when they played. Words do not do them justice! They were just soooooooo cool, so funky, so entertaining and completely out of this world. Flea did most of the commentary for the night and man he is a character! Hilarious! Also got to hand it to the tech team as the sound was awesome but also the graphics and filming for the projection screens was really well done too. Oh and the lighting was just mind blowing! They played pretty much all my faves such as By the way, give it away, can't stop, californication, dani California, Charlie, Suck my kiss, other side and Under the bridge. Plus a couple off their new album.

So glad I went. Great music, great people, just a great day!

Bit of a mission getting back though as the bus company was totally useless in the pouring rain. However once on the bus we all just conked out till Victoria station and then we had to run around in the rain at 2am in our brightly colored ponchos and find a taxi. I really need to get a local taxi number!

Sunday was a bit of a haze of goodbyes, hot showers and wandering round Notting hill and the portobello road markets. I was so tired i was a bit spaced out i think haha. Note to self: return to portobello markets when I have more money! The markets here are so cool and I really liked a lot of the boutique stores around notting hill too. Oh money...

Sunday night I experienced my first English football match at the flat across the road from Wes's place. Unfortunately it was incredibly dull and after over an hour of hoping to see something actually happen me and the other girls ditched and watched glee in the other room. ... Hahaha so much more entertaining!

Today is Monday and tomorrow I leave on my tour of Europe!!! So excited! Such a dork though cause I called them just to make sure i am actually booked on it and it's actually happening... It's kinda surreal to think I'm now off on a proper holiday where sunshine and lots of fun awaits me!!

I am at the clink hostel which used to be an old courthouse and it's pretty cool. Already met a girl who is doing a topdeck tour too (diffent one to me though) and we spent the afternoon wandering around kings cross and getting lunch. Can't wait to meet some more people and go adventuring! Apparently there's lots of auzzy's on my one haha.

Oh my god I cannot wait.... Yay only a little over 12 hours till we leave for Paris via a ferry from Dover to Calais .... Eeeeek so excited!

Watch this space x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb