Cheesy Bus Tour!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 13th 2012
Published: June 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Train trip from London to Ely

About an hour and a half on the train to little port, Ely.

Additional maps: Untitled

Yay!!!!!!!! My suitcase turned up in the dead of night last night! I cannot even express my excitement at this! The god of lost luggage came through! Material girl much? Meh so be it.

So I practically skipped into town today and decided to hop on a bus tour that went round all of London. This turned out to be a really good move as i now feel like I know the layout a lot better. Also I realized I can only be a tourist for so long in this city before it will look even sillier and I will be forced to assimilate myself into the culture so I best make the most of it!

I met some really cool auzzy dudes on the bus too and learned heaps of great facts from the commentator. Only wish I could remember them all!

The tour started at Trafalgar square and went down pall mall, past st James palace (the home of charles and camilla), the ritz hotel, park lane, marble arch, speakers corner and Hyde park, Buckingham palace, horse ferry road ( where they used to ferry horses and carts across the river), Westminster abbey and parliament, downing st, the London aquarium, the London eye, across Waterloo bridge and into "the city", past the first clock ever to have a minute hand put onto it (ooooh!), the only surviving house in "the city" to have escaped the flames of the London fire, the courts of justice, the London bank, st pauls cathedral (sir Christopher wren's masterpiece), across London bridge (which was not falling down thank goodness!), the shard building, the gherkin, city hall, across tower bridge, the tower of London, the globe, Victoria embankment, Whitehall and regent street.

At this point i needed to have lunch and collect my thoughts!

Then onto the bus to see Piccadilly circus, the original hard rock cafe, green park, knightsbridge (including a very very fit young black man just casually walking down the street topless.. I do like Knightsbridge .. ), Harrods, Kensington, the Victoria monument, the royal Albert hall, the natural history museum, Shaftesbury avenue, the British museum, and back to Piccadilly.

I also hopped onto a river cruise that went from Westminster pier to tower bridge. Saw many of the same sights as mentioned above but from a really cool perspective and also saw the Tate modern, the milineum bridge and the national theatre. I did happen to be stuck on this cruise with no less than three groups of foreign students under 14 though. It's enough to put me off children for life.

The journey does not end here I am afraid.. I had to race back to my hostel, check out and get to kings cross station to take the train to Cambridgeshire to meet my aunt and uncle. The price of the ticket nearly killed me but I made it onto the train with the help of some nice locals and an hour and a half later I got off in littleport! Miracle I made it really!

Seeing as I had been pushing my body both physically and emotionally over the last few days I guess it is no surprise that i have now come down with a massive cold/flu thing. I feel horrible but I had such a fantastic day! Honestly the best day so far due to the places I visited but also the fact it wasn't raining but beautiful beautiful sunshine. I think I even got sunburnt. I don't care right now, bring it on England!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb