Meeting the local fen witch and taking the ghost train


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire
June 17th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The weekend's travels

From Littleport to Ely to Lakenheath and the RAF to Great Yarmouth to Norrich and home again.

So being sick while in a new country reaaaally sucks. I'm torn with wanting to go out adventuring and just stay in bed getting better. Luckily I am in Littleport and there isn't much to do so chilling out has been a rather easy decision for most of the time.

Over the last few days staying here with my aunt and uncle I have seen and done some really cool things that are only really made possible with them.

The highlight of my Thursday was actually a really creepy supernatural experience...

I met my first fen witch on Thursday while taking the dog for a walk in search of the local shops. She was rather scary to be honest. I had been walking for a good forty minutes in what I thought was the right way to the shops only to come across her. I asked for directions and she merely pointed in hansel and gretal hag ish fashion. I am telling this story as a warning to all those who may visit here in the future... I think I had a lucky escape so beware! And if she offers you candy.. Definitely don't take it as her oven is probably nearby!

On Friday my aunt and i ventured into Ely which is the main town in the area. Also the home of a beautiful historical cathedral. We took the dog for a walk along a picturesque canal and then supped at the Peacock tearooms near the river. This place was exactly what a tearooms should be like! Cottage garden outside with views overlooking the canal. Delicate porcelain, silver cake forks, white garden furniture and a menu to die for filled with a selection of over 50 different teas plus cakes,puddings and Devonshire scones and jam! Yum! Trust me it was sooooo tasty and wonderful! If you don't believe me take it from the official UK tea guild who have rated the peacock tearooms as the top in the UK! (p.s how funny is it that they have a tea guild over here!?! Slash really awesome!)

The kids (aka my cousins Sam 8, Jacob 12 and Abby 14) came home late Friday afternoon and on Saturday morning we went for a family walk around the local fen land.

However the best part of Saturday by far was when Ryan and anni (aunt and uncle) took us to the RAF (royal air force) base nearby where Ryan works. I had to take ID to sign in and once there Ryan had to chaperone us around. Inside the base is like a small town. It has it's own suburbs where the officers and soldiers live, a shopping mall complete with Starbucks and duty free shops, a primary and secondary school, a gym, a hospital, a driving range and loads of restaurants and nightclubs. We went to the driving range and I'm not going to lie but I was awesome! Where did these amazing golf skills of mine come from?! We also visited the shops and then ate at a local pizzeria.

Unfortunately all the young military men were nowhere to be seen. I was keen to go to the nightclub later on in the evening but was warned against it for safety reasons. Apparently the ratio of men to women here is quite high and I would probably be kidnapped.

At home we got out the trivial pursuit and the wine and I proved yet again in one day just how awesome I am. Cambridge is really boosting my confidence can't you tell?

Today is Sunday and as it was mildly sunny we decided a trip out to the beach was in order. The local seaside town of great Yarmouth was absolutely fascinating! I mean the beach was pretty average compared with back home but there was a pier there that was lined with arcades, shops, rides and theatres! It was like something out of a movie! And it definitely looked as if it hadn't been changed since the 20s or 30s.

I went on the ghost train with Jacob and he teased me for The rest of the day as I actually screamed when the ghost/zombie thing popped out. But hey it was fun.

We took neat photos, spent all our pennies at the penny arcade and had icecreams and candy before walking the beach in the sunshine and making the drive back home.

Such a wonderful wonderful day. And I wouldn't have seen any of these things if not for being with the family. It was so fun and these experiences are recorded in my book of memories to keep forever!

Tomorow im taking a trip to Cambridge to explore the city. Id better rest up now, I want this cold/flu thing gone already!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb