London to Spain


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 26th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TelephoneTelephoneTelephone

Classic Telephone pic.
The first day of the trip went fairly well. After leaving from Pearson on a supposed 'MyTravel' airline, I made it way ahead of schedule to London Gatwick airport. Despite leaving at 6 o clock in the evening, by the time the flight landed it was nearly 6 in the morning. Hence to say I did not sleep.

My flight to Spain was not planned to leave until 6.40 p.m. local time in London, so I took a train to London Victoria Station and checked my luggage in. The most surprising thing I noticed were the amount of smokers that were in London - even inside the station. The people here dress very well and I felt more or so underdressed with my large knapsack and lugging along my suitcase in the middle of rush hour. I did get a few nasty looks, but all in all it went well. Once I checked in my luggage I spent the day walking around London. Only down part was that it was very rainy, so it did kind of ruin things. I caught the changing of the guards (extremely boring yet very popular), visited Big Ben, St. James Park and 'saw' the
London Victoria StationLondon Victoria StationLondon Victoria Station

The bustling Victoria Station at rush hour.
London Eye (too pricy to ride). London is extremely expensive city and the people here are also a bit snobbish.

So I walk around most of London, no sleep, very hungry. I finally catch lunch and catch a bus north to Stansted Airport. THe ride was about 1.5 hours and was a hefy 14 pounds. I flew out using Ryanair. Despite what people say about Ryanair, for a flight to spain for £0.99 you can't go wrong! Again, I did not sleep on the 2 hour flight. Again, Spain is one hour ahead of London time, so had to adjust my watch again.

Once I landed in Reus, Spain (outside of Barcelona) I caught a coach to the resort hotel and checked in. It was nearly 11 pm. I went to a local 'tapa' restaurant trying to order some food. Noone can speak English so it was pretty funny when I ordered a ham and mayonaise sandwich despite my vegetarian diet. I downed it with a cerveca and forgot about my mayonaise sandwich.

Day one was finally complted in Salou, Spain. The city here is a mix of Miami and Las Vegas, an amazing shoreline/beach that hosted
Salou beach lineSalou beach lineSalou beach line

Chilling at Salou beach
some Olympic events at the Barcelona Olympics in 1992. The city is pretty much occupied by European tourists who come to spend their vacations.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SalouSalou
Salou

Amazing shot of Salou again


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb