Dover and Lollygagging by the Thames


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 10th 2004
Published: June 10th 2004
Edit Blog Post

After another good night's sleep, I awoke and had lunch with Caroline's parents after which they took me to Dover to see St. Margaret's at the Cliffe. I had only about a half hour to make it to my 3:15 train, but we made the trip to see the cliffs. Boy, am I glad we did. St. Margaret's at the Cliffe was glorious. The combination of the white cliffs and various hues of blue of the water and sky were quite breathtaking.
Lucienne and Nicolas dropped me at the railway station and I took a long train ride into London. (The train kept stopping and making loud, rumbling noises ... not sure why.) I met Caroline at her lab and she took me to The Anchor on the Thames for drinks. About 10-15 people from her lab and friends joined us as we drank pints overlooking the Thames. I spoke with a number of fantastic people. In fact, one of Caroline's English co-workers actually worked in Rochester, Minnesota, at the Mayo Clinic while finishing her PhD. We got along very nicely you can imagine!
Afterwards, we went for a late dinner at Suchards, which is a Thai restaurant. It was fabulous! Caroline couldn't wait for us to eat, so she ordered an Imperial Platter full of Thai goodies like spring rolls, chicken satays, samosas, etc. I will have to remember how to find it when I return in August!

Advertisement



12th June 2004

hey there
Hey Jen. I\'m back in the US-of-A here, getting ready to leave for Italy. Nice pics! I expect to see a pic of you standing in London chanting \"USA! USA! USA!\". See you next week! Can\'t wait to get together with everyone!!! Kevin (Donahue, you know)
13th June 2004

Brilliant!
Nice blogging so far! Might be cool to use British spellings for your time in England--"viewing the colour of the cliffes from the centre of town was simply smashing"

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb