while in England part 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 30th 2011
Published: December 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This should've been under part 2, but oh well. I’m sure you all know of London’s Eye, you know the largest ferries wheel in London, yes that one. It stands at 443ft tall and 394ft in diameter, there were 32 capsules all together and it was actually pretty roomy inside. Oh you must take a ride inside, it costs about $50 pp. if I’m not mistaken. It could be more now I’m not sure but anyway it was about 30min ride but each capsule is enough to fit maybe if full around 20people inside but don’t quote me on that. Since it was low season, we got really lucky there were only a handful of people. So, we were able to take pictures of London from every angle from inside the capsule. I’m telling you, it went up so high you could see London for miles away. All the bridges and structures, you can also see how long the river Thames stretches from above. Yep we got the bird eye view from inside the capsule. It was worth it, especially since it didn’t spin as fast as most traditional Ferris wheel would. We’re also very fortunate that the weather was good that day, not sunny but dry and reasonably warm in the fall for London. It was overall a good day to ride the London’s Eye. It really is a modern marvel.

Moving on to the Museums and there were lots to choose from. We went to about four out of I dunno how many there are in London. The first one we hit was London’s Museum. The place was huge and there were many students on field trip when we were there. The entrance was probably about 40’ tall if not more. The artifacts were dated way back possibly from the time when Egypt ruled the world or even from the Chinese dynasty centuries ago. The one that really impressed me was the actual Rosetta stone on display. I don’t remember how old the stone is, but I’m pretty sure it’s pretty old. All these artifacts displayed sometimes got me thinking how and where did the British obtain them. Frankly, it might be important for some to know, but being ignorant as I am sometime, I’m just glad I got to see them with my own eyes instead of from Travel Chanel or NatGeo magazine you know.

And
Kesington PalaceKesington PalaceKesington Palace

late Princess Diana's residence
then there was London Bridge and Tower of London. We didn’t explore London Bridge as much as we’d like to. We did manage to stroll through London’s Tower and legend says that the crows are an important part of the Tower’s history. I say that because we ran across a cage with some crows inside and I thought that was odd. Unfortunately, I couldn’t remember for sure how the tale goes. Well, if you must know Goggle can tell you just about anything you’d like to know, right. But I really should take more notes next time I go somewhere historically important. There were many displays of guns, swords, the kings and princes uniform, and even horses replicas. You can spend half a day just to see and read every single artifact showed there. Good place to take the boy that’s for sure. I heard many went oohhs… and aahhs… when they saw something they like hahah it’s cute. The attendances were very helpful and friendly too. Some of the young guards with their red uniform over black slack attracted some tourists and many asked to have their photo taken with them. I was tempted to do so, but I’ll
Tower of LondonTower of LondonTower of London

one of many display
just take one without me in it hahahh.



This is going to be another long travel diary because we hit just about all touristy places in London, not to mention our road trip to Windsor Castle, Bath, the Stonehenge, and Edinburgh as well as our stop over at small town called Candle to get the Candle Mint candy my hubby longed for ever since we arrived in England. I’ll tell you all about that later on. Ohh dear, I didn’t realize just how much we did in the two weeks we were in the UK. Now that I’m writing about the trip, it’s amazing and overwhelmingly exciting to know that I made it to England.



Still more to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Tower of LondonTower of London
Tower of London

the younger guards i was telling you about


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb