while in England: the end


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
April 11th 2012
Published: April 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We took day trip tour to Windsor Castle, Bath, and then Stonehenge. Windsor Castle is about an hour away from London. There were about 50 people in our bus if I remember correctly. Windsor was huge and old. We went through Windsor village on the way to the Castle. One thing I remember freshly in my mind still was the guard’s attire. They were wearing bullet vest with automatic machine gun and that was quite intimidating. I guess when you’re guarding a modern world Royalty; you need to keep up with technology too. Once every day they have change of guard on duty at the courtyard. It was quite a show and everyone was there to see it. Windsor was lovely and to see it thoroughly one need to spend the whole day.



After about two hours we moved on to the next destination. The bus drove us to Bath through the countryside. England is green to my surprise. I’m not sure why but I’ve always thought of England as just a city with older buildings. Never have I thought of farmlands in England. I know that’s kind of weird. Anyways, Bath was beautiful and a bit crowded when we got there. We went inside the historical Romans Bath, which is about 200years old or older I’m not sure. I just know it’s very old. There was a statue of Minerva inside a protected glass display. The bath itself was greenish in color because of years of algae growing in the pool. There was a miniature display of how it was at its prime time. It’s quite a beautiful inside and out then. The city of Bath itself is lovely. I guess Nicholas Cage has a fancy flat somewhere at the square, so said the tour guide. It must be nice to be able to own a place in a historical city.



Our day ended with the trip to ancient Stonehenge. I was in awe of the structure. We were not allowed to touch it. In fact there was rope all around it to keep people away at a distance of possible 100meter away from the circular Stonehenge structure. It is field of green grass all around the Stonehenge. It was said that during summer and winter solstice, people would visit the Stonehenge and some performed some kind of rituals. I’m not sure if that’s true or not, so don’t take my word for it. There were also ancient burial sites nearby. In the old days the cemetery is formed like a little hill. We were so lucky with the weather. It was sunny and warm so we got to take lots of pictures. Stonehenge was quite a site and at times I would get a goose bumps looking at it. Such an old site and I just can’t get it in my head how people then stand those giant stones, and how they keep them from standing up all this time. I was in awe to this day whenever I’m looking at the picture of the Stonehenge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb