london calling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 29th 2006
Published: June 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

victoriavictoriavictoria

victoria train station
After a pretty enjoyable Air Transat flight from Vancouver (of which left just barely on time), I landed at Gatwick at 5:10pm local time. The walk from the plane to customs took forever. Luckily, customs was pretty dead so I zipped through there within 10 minutes, although the customs officer asked some pretty strange questions. I swear, I've only met one friendly immigrations officier in my life, that was in Calgary, oh well. After grabbing my main backpack I headed to out to get some british poundage. 2.1gbp to 1 cdn. Not bad considering a year or two ago it was at 2.6. I took the Gatwick Express to London Victoria. Considering I haven't been on a train since I was in kindergarten, it was pretty cool for me. I didn't even feel like I was on a train it was soo smooth. I'm accustomed to trains making the clickity-clack noise as it goes. I arrive at London-Victoria station. Once I get off the train I am overwhelmed by the size and business of the station. Coming from a small town of 20,000 where the train station is a small old hertiage house, this was amazing. I wanted to see what a proper London area looked like so I walked out of the station and just looked around. Double decker buses, antique british phonebooths, old buildings, it was everything I expected. At this point it hit me that I was actually in europe, in england, in london, man do I love that feeling! so surreal. Anyhow, I headed on the london underground (very cool) to Tottenham Hale station. Now, for those of you who haven't been on the london underground, one phrase will always stick with you, "Mind the Gap". It still makes me laugh. So at Tottenham Hale I wasn't sure where I was to catch the train to Harlow, where my aunt lives, so I asked some locals who kindly helped me. Half an hour later I arrived at Harlow Town station. From there I took a taxi to my aunts which cost 5 pounds, not bad, but certainly not cheap for the short ride. I slept damn good that night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb