Why are the doorknobs in the middle?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 24th 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I am titling this blog, what is one of our many remaining questions about the city. We have noticed that most doors have the doorknob directly in the center of the door. We have yet to figure out why, but we have many hypotheses about it. Perhaps they think it is more aesthetically pleasing? Maybe it puts less stress on the door itself. Who knows?

Thursday night was spent out drinking pints at a pub close to our hostel. I instantly made friends with 3 good looking British guys. We ended up spending a few hours talking to them about the cultural differences and politics. They were nice enough to draw us a homemade map of all the sights they thought we should try and see. If I could scan it, I would because it was hilarious! Some of their points of interest, included a section of town with really good Indian food. This was drawn by a bowl of rice with steam coming off it. You get the idea...

Once we got back to our room, Nate decided that it would be a good idea to drink a bottle of vodka with our Polish roommates. I went to bed. I was woken up about an hour and a half later to Nate having a pushup contest with one of the guys. I shouldn't call it a contest, because it really wasn't. Nate got schooled!! We have since spent a lot of time with my 4 male Polish roommates and the 5 girls they are traveling with. They have taught us a lot about Polish culture and we have taught them a little about Americans. They are all in University studying to be English teachers. They English is very, very good.

Yesterday we decided to catch up a little on our sleep since we hadn't gotten much. Around 2pm we set out for Trafalgar Square. On the way we passed the Westminster Cathedral. We went inside and there was a display of the shroud of Jesus. Later in the night, I found out this wasn't real. I believed it, but a middle aged man at the pub assured me it was a fake and everyone knew it but me. Oops??

We made it to Trafalgar Square and then to the National Gallery. It was pretty large and I spent most of my time admiring some of Monet's paintings. I lost Nate at some point along the way and ended up walking back to the hostel by myself, without a map. And I made it! I was extremely impressed with myself!!

The plan for today is to go to The Natural History Museum. I will update again in a day or two. And if any of you know why the doorknobs are in the middle, please feel free to fill me in! 😊

Advertisement



24th April 2010

Hello!
Hey Kim! I am so glad you guys made it and are having a good time!
24th April 2010

Google It!
Kimmie... when your Aunt Karen ask me about something such as what you are asking about the doorknobs I just say to her Google It! You probably already know her response as it starts with her middle finger and then words follow. Glad to hear all is well and by the end of the trip Nate may be the push-up king. Love you lots Uncle Tim xxoo
26th April 2010

Door Knobs
Enjoyed your most recent update. I asked Grandpa whether he knew why the door knobs are in the middle of the door, and he said he had never noticed. Where is Uncle Gary's response? He will know. Thinking of you lots, Kimmie. Love, Mom XO
1st May 2010

Enjoy door knob
door open either right or left ?haha more secure

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb