London Part 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from London - I arrived in London on Friday night from Cornwall and travelled to my friends Jenn and Ed's place in East Dulwich located in the southeast part of the city. On Saturday we did a leisurely tour of thier neighbourhood and then bought some things to make dinner. Ed suggested a proper "bangers and mash" would be appropriate. True to his word he made an excellent bangers and mash.

On Sunday we went to Spitalfields Market in the afternoon. There was so many great things it was overwhelming to decide what to at or what to buy - however the large bin of silk scarfs for 1 pound each was appealling. Then we went and had curry at an Indian place on Brick Lane which was also in the area. We passed by the pub where Jack the Ripper was known to frequent and I also got my first ride in a double decker bus! Very fun. I took a shot of London Bridge at night from the moving bus so it's not great, but I had to take a picture of something.

Monday and Tuesday I took in a few of the major sites - Trafalgar Square, the national gallery, the national portrait gallery, buckingham palace, took some shots of Westminster Abbey, the Parliament Building and Big Ben and spent an afternoon at the Victoria and Albert museum (really great - my fave so far). One thing that is excellent is that alot of the major Sites/galleries/museums are free to visit in London, which I was quite happily surprised by. Oh yes and a took a stroll through Harrod's, the department store whose inhabitants are comprised of 1% people who can afford to spend $1000 on a wallet, and then 99% tourists taking pictures and buying things from the food hall. One thing that is so great about this city is public transit - I thought Toronto's transit was OK but now I realize it is totally ancient and crap. London's system is all automated and incredibly easy to use. Toronto should take a few notes from London for sure.

My outing from yesterday (Wed) will be summarized in another post today or tomorrow.....I'll give a hint, it indirectly involves Jude Law....I know there are some of you who will know what I'm talking about....

I'm have a lot more to do here in London so I'll add more from my London exploits once I finish up here on the weekend!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb