The Hostel - St. Christopher's Inn


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 4th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So finally arrived at the hostel after lugging all my stuff all around London Bridge station.

Went to check in to find that despite IEP telling me they had made a booking, one hadn't been made in my name at all. It was 6pm and I was tired and about to cry. I had already flown 14 hours, on the tube for 1 hr and walked around for half an hour with all my luggage!

They had to make some calls in relation to my booking and I gave them the copy of my booking confirmation but it still wasn't on the computer so they had to book me in another room for one night, despite me paying for 2 nights. I was told that the other night would be sorted in the morning.

Some friends guys helped to carry up luggage up 6 flights of stairs to the 3rd level where I found I was staying in a room with 5 boys who were all friends. It was certainly interesting. I showered and went to bed by about 7.30pm - I was so tired and emotional. I could have easily turned around and come straight back home.

About 4am the boys all came back from partying and thankfully none of them picked up but the things they were talking about were really gross!!! Somethings a girl should never be in the room for.

I was awake then and couldn't get any more sleep so went down stairs to use the internet and let everyone know I was ok.

Went back to bed at 6am for a couple of hours rest.

You don't really realise how difficult it is going to be once you get over here. You don't know anyone and you feel so alone in the world.

As everyone knows, I am a family and friends person. I would rather catch up for a barbeque than party on my own at some random club.

Clearly, this is going to be one of the most challenging, and hopefully rewarding, experiences of my life.

On one hand I have an amazing opportunity to live out on of my dreams!! Travelling and working in the UK and travelling Europe but on the other hand how am I going to survive 14 months if I can't survive one day.

I miss having a hug from someone who cares. Before I probably took things for granted but I could get a hug from either the next room, next door, 2 minute walk, 5 minute, 1 hour or 3 and half hours drive. I would have someone who cared for me and it wouldn't matter if I was balling my eyes out over some stupid thing that wouldn't matter half an hour from then. I was doing this all on my own.

I think the first day has defintely been the hardest. Tired, emotional and missing everyone terribly.

Oh and the accomodation situation really didn't help matters at all.

Hopefully all I need is SLEEP!





Advertisement



5th May 2009

hugs
BIG HUGS FOR YOU MY DEAR XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX
5th May 2009

hugs
BIG UGS FOR YOU MY DEAR XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
5th May 2009

hugs
BIG UGS FOR YOU MY DEAR XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb