Job interview


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 13th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

13/3/09
It’s Friday the 13th, but I’m still believing that luck will fall my way today. I’ve got a job interview in a couple of hours. I’m still not entirely certain what the position is. It’s been described to me that the position entails driving to hospitals in London and in the SE to talk to patients, gather information then come back to Kings Cross to deliver said information. I started to get a bit sceptical at this point, it sounded like a drug company, so I checked out the organisation. And it’s a UK mental health organisation!! Far out! Travel half way across the world and may end up in a job doing something spectacularly similar to what I was doing back in Adelaide! Only I don’t have to study, detain people or pump them full of drugs.
Looks like there might be a room available in Fulham that R and I can rent. It’s a good price apparently. If I get this job, we might have to hurry up and settle in it cos the company is looking for immediate start. I don’t want to get ahead of myself but I’m starting to see the sketchy outline of a life over here. All I need is a gym membership!! J
Wow missing the gym so much. Been doing some jogging but London streets aren’t great for it.
Went for a run in Shrewsbury last night along the river. It was gorgeous!! There were white swans, green banks, blue skies, white clouds etc. Was only going to run for half an hour but I spotted some grannies out jogging and it shamed me into running a bit further. So I’m a little sore today. I’m not complaining about a job interview but it was a bit of a bugger to train it up to Shrewbury and then get a call so that I had to train it back the next morning. Lisa and Dave are kindly letting me crash again tonight.
Shrewsbury was awesome. You know those little, cute, cobbled-street towns that belong in picture books? This one is the ultimate. Interestingly Clive-of-India and Charles Darwin were both from Shrewsbury. It’s a very conservative place and everyone’s Caucasian.
Anyways I’m lurking about in the British Museum atm. Shamelessly taking advantage of the free wifi and lockers for my overnight bag. They’ve got an incredible exhibition here full of valuable, original, written works. Think of Shakespere’s sonnets, Jane Austen’s raw manuscripts, scribbled lyrics from the Beatles, sacred Buddhist texts…After a bit you have to walk out and let your head stop spinning.
Jeez I hate interviews!!! The waiting… the anxiety…
100minutes to go.
At least it isn’t a really important interview. It’s hardly going to be life-saving. It just might mean we can start spending by the pound a little more than scrimping by the dollar.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb