First Few Days Of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everybody! I miss you guys so much, but I am having a lot of fun in London!

I started classes on Tuesday. I only have class from Tuesday to Thursday. So I have nice long weekends to travel and come and visit you all! My classes are all really interesting. I am taking a Black Writing in Britain class, that I know I'll love, A Caribbean Novel class, where the professor is extremely enthusiastic about Caribbean literature, an Architecture in London class, where we pretty much get to go around to various sights in London and look at them, and a ramdom history class called Gladstone in Ireland. I didn't even know who Gladstone was before today, but it sounds really interesting actually. The classes are all only one hour, and they only meet once a week! It seems really bizarre to me, but who knows! Most of the students in my class are American though, so it will be rather difficult to meet Britains. I'm sure I'll figure it out though.

I've met three really nice girls. One's name is Brette, she goes to the U, I actually met her during Welcome Week. She has friends that are studying all around as well, so we are going to travel together! We both know this guy Preston, who I am pretty certain is doing the same program as Ryan in Switzerland! Another's name is Christie. She's from Maine but goes to school at Boston College. We have two classes together too, so that's nice. The last one's name is Emily. She's from New York, and goes to school at Duke. Christie and I met a girl from California today who has been here for a semester already, and she said that she would tell us all the places to hang out and meet guys. haha. Good news. Her name was Trish. I'm glad we made a friend who knows what is going on.

The school that I am at is in the East End of London, and it's very different than what I expected. It is in a very international neighborhood. The campus is really small. The school is really small. It's definitely the opposite of everything I am used to.

We went on a bus tour of Lonon last week and we went on a boat tour last night. The boat pulled up and everybody was like "Ooohhh it's a party boat". It reminded me of classy night, boat style!!!haha. I miss you guys a lot!! I will put pictures up too!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb