Tour of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 27th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting by the window in a small Italian diner on a corner near Leicester Square. Watching the people go by, eating some delicious seafood pasta as the sun sets. I'm so content.

I finally got a new cell phone today and a new contract! And I bought a mobile broadband device to hook up to my laptop, so I can have internet wherever I go! (That was another thing that confused the hell out of me when I was shopping for it.)

What I did today:
*Refused to be intimidated by the throngs of people in the Underground.
*Took a bus tour of the City, sitting on top of the double-decker, taking tons of pictures.
*London Eye
*Boat tour on the Thames, from Waterloo Bridge to the Tower Bridge.
*WALKED ACROSS THE TOWER BRIDGE! Oh my god, it's the most beautiful bridge in the world! I got verklempt.

I'm already gaining an understanding of the trains and tube system, which makes me feel less afraid and more independent.

After I finish eating, I stroll slowly along the sidewalk, feeling the cool air lift my hair. I take deep breaths, as if the city itself gives me life. I can't believe people act like being in this amazing city is normal. They don't seem excited. They're just hanging out on benches, in the grass, walking with their friends somewhere, talking on the phone, like it's all totally normal. I try to act normal, too. I want to be a "Londoner".

But I can't. I'm smiling too big.

On the way back to the tube, I buy a discount ticket to see We Will Rock You on Wednesday night. It features the music of Queen and is co-written by Brian May. Roger Taylor was also a musical supervisor and producer on the show. Anyway, we'll see how I handle London on a week night and after dark.

Tomorrow, I'm going to Cambridge with my Hungarian roommate, Krisztina.

I LOVE THIS CITY!!

Inside....... I'm singing. I'm dancing. My arms are flung out and I'm spinning, spinning.... Because this city is alive with the sound of music.




Additional photos below
Photos: 78, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Trafalgar LionTrafalgar Lion
Trafalgar Lion

The most climbed-upon statues in the country. One day soon, I'll be sitting on one of these lions. :)
Trafalgar Square Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

National Gallery in the background.
Me at Trafalgar SquareMe at Trafalgar Square
Me at Trafalgar Square

A picture I took of myself from the top of a double-decker bus.
Wellington ArchWellington Arch
Wellington Arch

England's answer to the Arch de Triomphe!
Wellington ArchWellington Arch
Wellington Arch

On top: Britain's biggest bronze scuplture--Peace Descending on the Quadringa of War.
Speakers' CornerSpeakers' Corner
Speakers' Corner

Where people, long ago and today, stand to deliver speeches. At the northeastern corner of Hyde Park.
Atop the Wellington ArchAtop the Wellington Arch
Atop the Wellington Arch

Angel of Peace riding a Chariot of War


Tot: 0.604s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.4272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb