Week 2-Part of London and Homework


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 10th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The beginning of this week was continuing to be rainy. The majority of the past couple of days is working on my homework for the nursing course. Before the weekend, on Thursday Sarah and I went into to London and did some exploring. Sarah has been there before but we took the day and walked around the popular street for shopping. The streets are beautiful and the major roundabouts, called circus, have these amazing statues. We started our day off at the Marble Arch, which is beside an extremely pretty park. We went into so many interesting shops and expensive boutiques. I did actually buy things, some things for my family, but I bought a purse and a Radley wallet. I really enjoyed the day looking around at the interesting and old buildings and going into all the stores. I can’t believe the city driving. Sarah and I almost got hit by a car multiple times throughout the day, drivers don’t look. We ended up walking down to Buckingham palace and through the royal park. I felt bad for the royal guards, treating them like a tourist attraction, but I felt I was entitled like everyone else to have my photo
LondonLondonLondon

It was so rainy
taken. And for my friend that's a cop back home, I needed a picture with a bobby.
After a pub lunch of fish and chips we went to Continental Travelnurse office so that Sarah could drop off some paperwork. I was able to meet the people I have been talking with on the phone for the last year. I was also able to inquire on the process of my nursing placement and the next steps in the registration process. It does look promising for me to work in Edinburgh but nothing is confirmed yet. Over the weekend I have been trying to do homework. It is SO BORING! I want to get it done and finished so I don’t have to worry about it anymore. The weather is getting nicer and I have a bunch of day trips I want to do. However because it is boring I get distracted, mainly because I have discovered Dexter on the internet and I should have never started watching it! It’s a great show, Kim you are right, and I do really like it.
I am officially done half of the overseas nursing program! I have finished more then half the
Signs on the roadSigns on the roadSigns on the road

There is a good reason for these paintings. As a Canadian I am use to looking both ways when I cross the street, but cars don't give pedestrians the right of way, trust me!
book too, which I am really happy with. Yesterday we had to make the tiring journey into Bournemouth but everything is really good. Today I also officially booked everything for my Paris trip. It was a decision I have been thinking about all week. I have 2 weeks off after the course is finished on May 23rd however we have to move to our new location, where we get our jobs and we have to fill out more paperwork and everything for our registration. So Sarah and I decided that we were going to do something for a 5-7 days right after the course was finished and then come back and get settled for moving. Sarah is going to New York to visit a friend of hers for 7 days and I planned a 5-day trip in Paris!
I leave from London and going by Eurostar, which is the train that travels under the English Channel into Paris. I am going to book a couple of tours bus around the city, go into the Louvre, and do a night tour as well. I have done a lot of research and haven’t planned everyday yet. I am memorizing the map
Buckingham Palace Main entranceBuckingham Palace Main entranceBuckingham Palace Main entrance

The detail in gold is so pretty
and I have a book of Pairs I am going to bring. I have been worrying about my French speaking abilities! I hope my grad 9 French (which I almost failed) comes back to me. Bonjour! Merci! I would like some frites! We will have to see how I do! (*thought* I may have to call my cousins if I get into any problems).




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Royal GuardRoyal Guard
Royal Guard

This guard is so young, he has to be a teenager.
Roz and I Roz and I
Roz and I

This is a picture in the office of Continental Travelnurse. Roz is the person I have been talking to in planning this trip for the past year
The Victoria MemorialThe Victoria Memorial
The Victoria Memorial

Can you find me?
Royal ParkRoyal Park
Royal Park

Royal park is on the left hand side of Buckingham Palace (cant really see the park, but you can see me)


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb