Week 1-Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I have completed my first week in the UK. It has actually gone by fairly quickly. I have settled into my house in Oxford with my 2 roommates, Sarah and Carolyn. Everyone is really nice and we spend a lot of time at the kitchen table talking about nursing and where we come from. Both of them are from Australia and the more I hear about there it is really similar to Canada. The prices of things, healthcare, cell phones, shopping, etc. The main difference is they drive on the other side of the road. On the weekend I went into the city center of Oxford where all the universities are. There are so many and the buildings are beautiful they make up most of the city of Oxford. There is a walking tour of them all that I am thinking about doing when the weather gets nicer. I spent the day with one of my roommates walking around town and looking around the shops. We went into one of the courtyard to Christ Church (a main cathedral), which has a nice big park and walkway in the main yard. It was really busy with people and military as I
College entranceCollege entranceCollege entrance

You can't go into the college unless you are on a tour, but you can see the beautiful courtyard
think it was a graduation and/or parade going on that day. The next day I went into town by myself and took more pictures and learned my way around. There are a couple of small strip malls, a bigger grocery store and a pedestrian walkway with shops. The grocery stores here are nothing like back home, they are very small and the variety is smaller. However the food is good, the pass couple of days I have been eating really well. I enjoyed going into the Marks and Spencer’s and Debenham’s, which is a department store. I did some grocery shopping, went into the Oxford University stores, and to the tourist information center. There I found a lot of information on some tours I am thinking about doing over the next couple of weeks. I am particularly interested in going on the Stonehenge and Bath tours. The past couple of days have been the “typical English weather” raining all day. However outside is really pretty because everything is very green. The rain has provided me with some time to do some of my homework for the nursing course. This weekend is supposed to be really nice and sunny. Sarah and I are planning on going into London to do some shopping and then maybe again to do the open top bus tour. I haven’t had the chance to see the main parts of London yet so I am looking forward to doing that.
In regards to my future nursing job, I haven’t heard too much. There might be an opening in an observation step down unit in Edinburgh, which is my first choice city for working. The work is different then what I am used to at home but I really want to work in Edinburgh, it doesn’t matter what job I get, even if it is in surgery, it is going to be different then what I am used too. Hopefully everything works out and I know what I am doing.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The military soildersThe military soilders
The military soilders

There uniforms I believe are the same as ours
ChurchChurch
Church

I love this picture
River along parkRiver along park
River along park

You could rent a boat and paddle yourself around if you wanted too
Oxford Castle Oxford Castle
Oxford Castle

This castle is right beside the shopping center, it is not very big
Universities of OxfordUniversities of Oxford
Universities of Oxford

There are so many universities, the whole city, almost very street has a building associated with the college. The buildings are all like this one
Entrance wayEntrance way
Entrance way

I loved this tree in front of the entrance
Me in my England attireMe in my England attire
Me in my England attire

I placed my camera on a stone wall, it was really windy and wet. I am in front of that entrance way with the weird tree
My new roomMy new room
My new room

I have upgraded to the big room with en-suite bathroom


5th May 2008

hey! i love the pictures of the old churches and buildings! i'm so jealous that you're over there, i hope you're having an amazing time :) i miss you!!
9th May 2008

Hi Ashley...wow...I really enjoyed reading about your travels...well since you haven't gotten lost yet I am glad you don't have my sense of direction....(I never know where I am, I used to be good..well whatever)....looking forward to reading more....take care

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb