Let's go Tubing!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tower of LondonTower of LondonTower of London

another pic
Oh gosh. Looong day. It was a complete free day away from the group and we spent the day hopping off and on "The Tube". We went to breakfast this morning and afterwards walked outside. Holy hell, it was FREEZING. I mean, a bitter bitter wind! Luckily no clouds. Our tour director would say "the sun has got his hat on" so at least it didn't rain.

We walked to the Tube station and decided to buy an all day pass which was about 5 pounds. I don't like subways or small spaces, but I seemed to do okay. I thought I'd have issues on the subway, but I was apparently fine. Luckily it wasn't too crammed with people which is what makes me nervous. Our first stope for the day was Westminster. We couldnt go inside it yesterday since it was Sunday and I really wanted to see it. 10 pounds to go inside. It was beautiful. I just love the gothic style ceilings. We weren't allowed to take photos inside the church.

Afterwards it was back on the Tube for our next stop, which was Harrod's. Which quite honestly, I did not need to see. It was
Tower of LondonTower of LondonTower of London

Our hotel is literally about 50 yards away!
a complete waste of time. Sorry, but I did not like it. I knew it would be expensive, but I had no idea how much. To top things off we looked like street scoundrels! Everyone else had their stylish heels and boots and cute jackets and beautiful scarves and me in sneakers and -gasp- a sweatshirt!! Now I know I have plenty of cute clothes at home living in Florida, but I don't exactly have a pretty scarf to wear, but a sweatshirt?? Why oh why did I wear a sweatshirt!! Needless to say we were not in Harrod's for very long, there was absolutly nothing we could buy, except maybe a postcard, and lord knows, I have plently of them.

Well we were back on the Tube after that and went to Leicester square. Cute area that sells discounted theater tickets. Jay really wanted to see a show. The tickets were 30 pounds. Not discounted enough. Thats still roughly $60 usd!! (and for both of us, it would have been well over $100) So we opted out of a show, although Jay would say its because "Erin doesn't like theater" he'll blame me.

So we decided to
Westminster AbbeyWestminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey

This is where you enter to go inside. Absolutly stunning
get some lunch, we ate at a fast food resturant across the street. Yes, a fast food resturant, but for the sake of this blog we ate at a "street cafe". I have a few friends who would give me such a hard time about eating at a fast food place in Europe!! But hey, I was starving and it was freezing. And it was cheap.

Afterwards we saw a cute shop, with - gasp- scarves!! 2 for 5 pounds, but I wanted a different scarf and it was 2 for 12 pounds. One is a beautiful white one and the other is a navy plaid one which looks flanne. I am not sure if I like that one, but it kept me warm all day. In ever picture I'm wearing the same dumb black jacket I got at walmart 4 years ago. Or was it Target? What does it matter, we all know it wasnt purchased at Harrod's!!

Then it was back on the Tube to "mind the gap" all day we had to "mind" something. Mind your belongings, mind your step, mind your head, which I'm assuming means "watch", as in "watch your belongings" etc.
Anyway,
Westminster AbbeyWestminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey

Freezing my butt off, so COLD!!
after another thrilling tube ride we went to St. Pauls Cathedral to go inside it this time. All I can say is, the ceilings! I just wanted to stare at them all day. I loved it. We decided to climb to the tob, which is 500 some odd steps. It nearly killed me. Narrow stairwells with short ceilings which we were told to "mind your head" (you could easily bang your head!) I got sweating hot walking up, then once at the top, it was a tight fit outside and it was blasting cold winds. We're talkin' polar ice winds. We took only a few pictures, then it was back down the steps, where I nearly slid down and fell. We were so worn out thank god there was a little cafe at the bottom to get some soda and replinish.

Afterwards we had 4:00 tickets to the King Tut exhibit which was at the 02 arena. It is a new arena which opened in 2007. So after St. Paul's it was back on the Tube for about 8 stops til North Greenwhich which was where the 02 arena was. It is a nice mall-like area with an ice
Big Ben ClocktowerBig Ben ClocktowerBig Ben Clocktower

Another one of Big Ben Clocktower
skating rink, a cinema and plenty of resturants and shops and of course, the King Tut exhibit. It was several rooms of amazing Egyptian artifacts which were uncovered by architect Howard Carter in 1922. I can't believe how all that stuff was untouched for 3,000 years.

Then it was back on the tube and this time - not fun! It was rush hour and people were crammed into the subways like sardines. I sat through 8 nerve wracking stops until we reached the Picadilly Line. I watched as people slept, read magazines or books, or listened to music. Riding the subway is just a way of life here. Our tour director, who lives in London, says he hasn't owned a car in 10 years and just uses the public transportation system.

Once we were in Picadilly Circus, we decided to get some food. The day was winding down and I was tired, and grumpy. After we ate, right outside the Tube station, I took some pictures of Picadilly Circus. It was all lit up for night. I told Jay it always reminded me of Times Square in NY. Even though I have never been to NY, but from
Big BenBig BenBig Ben

us after 3 days of traveling on no sleep!!
the movies that is what it reminds me of!!

Then we were back on the Tube, which for the last time we "minded the gap" for the day, and possibly forever. I had never been more excited to see the hotel. I was tired, cranky, my back and feet hurt and I was so so cold. I slept for about an hour and a half before Jay and I walked to the red phone booth outside to call Ann our dog "babysitter" and check on our babies.

So our first leg of this amazing journey has ended. Tomorrow, its to the chunnel station and on to Paris. I have to say, London is amazing. It's old and historical and yet, modern, hip and sophisticated at the same time. Around every corner is a new, unique glamorous building. It is a huge and scary city, yet some areas have a quaint small town feel. It's diverse, lively and vibrant, and of course, COLD! All in all, I found London to be "brilliant" !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

viewview
view

Shakespears Globe theater from atop the cathedral
viewview
view

London Eye is massive
viewview
view

me from the top of St. Pauls. Icy cold winds!
viewview
view

Tower Bridge from afar
viewview
view

Millennium Bridge
viewview
view

more views of the city
0202
02

The 02 arena. Pretty cool looking building
10 pounds10 pounds
10 pounds

This is maybe 20 bucks or so in usd. depending on the exchange rate
Picadilly CircusPicadilly Circus
Picadilly Circus

It reminds me of Times Square!
Picadilly CircusPicadilly Circus
Picadilly Circus

I love this area
Mind the GapMind the Gap
Mind the Gap

Mind the gap.
viewview
view

more views from atop St Pauls
King TutKing Tut
King Tut

This was right outside the 02 arena. We werent allowed to take pics inside the King Tut exhibit
Roman StatueRoman Statue
Roman Statue

Roman Statue. The Romans even had influence on London.
Catherine's WharfCatherine's Wharf
Catherine's Wharf

This was an area right outside the hotel
Catherine's WharfCatherine's Wharf
Catherine's Wharf

Bad pic but whatever!
Starbucks!!Starbucks!!
Starbucks!!

I thought this was a unique starbucks, it was two floors, the seating area was upstairs and it had a winding staircase.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb