Rain Rain Go Away


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 2nd 2007
Published: July 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Anthony GormleyAnthony GormleyAnthony Gormley

He made tons of these statues cast from his body and left around the city pointing towards the museum. It was cool to see them on top of buildings and such
and dont come again another day. I am so sick of this weather, it is so depressing. It has rained every single day since I been here. But anyways enough about that. The other day Ellen, Bryna and I went to the Hayward Gallery (a museum of sorts). They were displaying Anthony Gormley's work. He is an amazing artist, probably one of my favorites now. His work explores the human body and is all about the human body in space and its relation to this in the world. He had this exhibit which was a large class box, big enough for about 20 people to go inside and it contained a cloud. Yeah, a cloud. It was amazing. You went inside and were completely disorientated. You couldnt see your feet and if you held out your hand in fron to fyou you could barely see it. It was quite possibly the coolest thing I have ever done in my entire life. Then today we had a guest speaker in class. It was Grace Robetson, which Im sure the name means nothing to you but she is amazing! It was incredible to listen to her and her life stories plus the
Anthony GormleyAnthony GormleyAnthony Gormley

Outside the Cloud
fact that her pictures are incredible. She was so inspiring which is exactly what I needed today after the critique I had and learned I have to retake all of my pictures for my project. I was so angry about it but then I listened to her and how she struggled in the beginning as well and realized that not everything I do is going to be perfect of even good but as long as I keep trying and learning that I will eventually perservere. Thank goodness for Grace Robertson. I suggest you check out both Anthony Gormley's and Grace Robertson's work.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Anthony GormleyAnthony Gormley
Anthony Gormley

On the outside looking in on the people inside the cloud
Anthony GormleyAnthony Gormley
Anthony Gormley

You could only see them if they ran into the glass


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb