Getting to meet the locals


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Can't believe how much time has gone by already. And I was worried I would be bored having 3 weeks in London. Now I wish I hadn't planned a week of that away.

Anyway, spent Saturday at Camden Market. It has grown a lot since I was last here (either that or I just couldn't be bothered to go suss out the rest of it). Problems on the tube didn't start the day off very well. They tend to do work on the weekends, which means some parts get shut down. I thought I was ok when I left Russell Sq, but it was not to be. Had a bit of a detour, but I got there with only a little fuss.

It's still raining here. And I mean raining (not that lovely BC spit). I have 2 brellies on the go. Did get some photos of the Lock and some of the stores, as they were pretty dolled up with Goth clothes (I have to get a new cord for my camera, and then I'll put some pics up - if you can see anything through the rain spots). I saw some of the best Goth outfits in the market, and right along the main street. If only I was young again... One gal was making the most incredible velvet hooded capes, with satin lining. If only I could afford one, and had somewhere to where it. I really should've been a rich princess.

I ended up spending 5 hours here. There are about 5 seperate markets in the area, but they kind of all blend into one. On the weekend there is an antique section, so you know where I was heading. With the downpours and wind, it made for an interesting tour. I felt like I was in Mexico again, with all the hawkers in the market. If someone had offered to sell me their brother or sister, I would've really questioned where I was! When you walked by the food booths, they were already filling a container for you, even if you were just walking by. Great selection of food, but you quickly find out that it's pretty much the same thing - just in differently named booths (the indonesian booth kept borrowing from the chinese one next door, etc). I think they must have one massive kitchen tucked away somewhere, and they just stock everyone in different types of containers.

The antique portion is held in the old stables, which was really neat. I'd never been in a stable like this before. The top floor was the old stables, with the cobble stone floors, large wood & metal topped stalls, and 30' peaked ceilings. Just like in the movies. This wasn't the amazing thing. When I left the building, and came out on another alley, I realized that there was a bottom floor, where there are permanent shops set-up. When you look up at the ceiling, you see the brick or cobblestone, in an arch format, obviously to support the floor above. I'd never seen that type of construction before.

I stayed for 4 hours, and that was just doing the quick tour. Pretty amazing how many stalls, permanent stores there were. Some are open 7 days a week, some just on the weekend. It's like the Cloverdale Flea Market, but closer to one another, and about 100x bigger. I noticed that a lot of the stff is very mainstream, and not really that unique. But if you want cheap clothes, in the latest trend, this is the place to come.

Decided to head over to the other side of town to the Portobello Market. They advertise they are open till 7:00, but they were closing down just after 5. I decided to walk through it anyway, just to get a feel if I wanted to make another trip out here. It was huge too, but this is down a street, rather than tucked in and around some buildings, like Camden. Think I'll try and make it back here if I have another weekend day available.

Took the double decker back to the hotel, and then headed out for dinner at an Italian restaurant called Strada, which is a couple minutes walk from the hotel, in a California styled mall called Brunswick. It was pretty good, but not fantastic. The service was awesome, and it was the first time I had a table to myself. I ended up staying almost 2 hours, as I was eavesdropping on the 2 tables around me. One table had 2 American woman (one of which I believe lives in Bellingham), and the other table had 2 Brits, that have something to do with the dance/theatre life.

Sunday I spent out at Sutton with my friend Pat. You have to take the National Rail train out there, which is just above the Victoria tube station. I've been very impressed by the customer service of the people who work in the stations. The fellow who was standing behind the gates at the train station, ended up tracking me down as I was waiting for the train, as he found a fast train had come in at another gate. Still can't figure out how he knew I was going to Sutton. They always seem to be on the look-out for tourists that seem lost, and often step up to ask if they can help before even being approached. What a way to keep people happy and coming back.

Sutton is only about 1/2 hour out of the city, but you don't feel like you have left the city. Nice little High street with pretty much all the shops you can imagine, even a good old fashioned N.American mall. We stopped for coffee, did a bit of window shopping, and picked up some groceries before we had to go move the car before it got booted (if you get a boot/lock put on your wheel, it costs about £250 to have it removed. And they don't remove it till you pay). Everytime we went to get in the car, I was trying to get in the wrong side. You would think I would have learned after the 3rd time. We drove around the country side (real country side), she showed me where she works (quite a huge building out in the lolling green fields - she works for an insurance & mortgage company, and by the looks of it, have a lot of money to spend on such a grand facility), and then stopped for a drink at a really quaint pub. We both could only stay for one quick drink, as the smoke got to both of us (July 1 and no more smoking for them. No one can believe it will happen, and they don't believe how smoothly it went when we went non-smoking). What was really neat was the dogs that were frequenting the premises with their owners. Dogs can go into most stores, pubs, and on buses.

After this we visited Pat's sister and family. Had a really nice, short, visit and then had to rush off to her place so she could make dinner for her parents. She made a fab Thai dinner, but I think she was trying to feed an army. Her parents are just lovely. I was reminded the whole time of my grandparents, as they are only slightly younger than them, and are already struggling. It sucks to get old! Got home about midnight, but had a wonderful day meeting all of Pat's family, all of whom I have been hearing about for years. Finally some true Brits, and a home cooked meal!

Monday, today, I spent trying to sort out a trip. Getting a bit anxious, as I either have to extend my hotel tonight, or be out by 11:00 tomorrow am. Started with the Irish Consulate (?) Tourist info. They are just off Oxford St which isn't too far of a walk for me. But it was again pouring. I don't think we've had a day without rain yet. Got some interesting brochures, and they helped me with the Geneology information I had already found on-line. I don't have enough information to go to the centre in Ireland and have them help me track down the family. I'll have to try my uncle again, and see if he has come up with something else in the last week. Without birth names, dates, and county/parish, you're pretty much SOL.

Ended up back down at the Strand, Covent Gardens, and into Leister Sq. Was getting pretty hungry (starting to think that this trip should've been called the Great London Restaurant Hunt), and found this terrific little noodle shop that I have eyeballed every day. I'll have to write the name down the next time I go by. The internet cafe I use is just a couple doors down, so I headed over there afterwards, and got down to the nitty gritty of planning my get away. Still getting asked by people for directions. Next time I'm going to ask if I look like a local.

After many hours of frustration, I've booked myself into Dublin via Ryan Air tomorrow, and then back to London via Belfast on Easy Jet next Monday (this is Ireland, nothing is easy, and no one seems to service them both). Couldn't decide on the hotel, but I ran out of time, as I'm supposed to meet Nuno and Chris at 6:30 in front of the Wong Kei. Will do that later tonight. Looks like my plans will be
- Dublin - Tue/Wed
- Blarney - Thu
- Dublin site seeing then train to Belfast - Fri
- Belfast - Sat
- Giants Causeway - Sun
- travel back to England - Mon

I could've stayed one more day, but I have a few more things I want to see just outside of London, and if I like Ireland, this will only be a teaser.

Met up with the guys at the restaurant. Chris and I hit it off like a house on fire. He's from New Zealand and has lived here for about 13 years. He's recently taken on Russian translating (technical/engineering kind of work). Nuno, it turns out, is a hospital administrator on the West side of London, and lives in Brighton. Now that is a commute. It was really gracious of him to come and set this up, as it will be very late by the time he gets home. Nice having good conversation, one that I can participate in, not just eavesdrop in on.

You can tell that Chris and I got along, as we hung around the restaurant till 9:30 (Nuno had to leave by 8), then headed off to the Mayfair section of town, to a pub that he felt I should see (Audley). Very impressive with beautiful ceilings and woodwork). Had a couple of drinks before the 11:00 bell went off, and they finally kicked us out about 11:45. Chris walked me up to Oxford Street so I could catch a bus back home (tube closes around 12-12:30). We hung out at the bus stop for a while, people watching. After what I saw, I will never touch a store door handle again, and will be washing my hands frequently when I'm out in public. Didn't think a body could contain so much pee.

I'll keep in touch with the guys, as they would both like to get together when I get back from Ireland. I was planning a day trip to Brighton, so maybe we can all meet up there.

It was almost 1 by the time I got in, and couldn't be bothered to pack up. My flight isn't till 4:20 tomorrow aft, so I'll do it in the am. I'll have about 2 hours to kill after check-out, so maybe will get to do my laundry, or better yet, book a hotel for tomorrow night!

TTFN!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb