Last day in London till I get back


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 10th 2007
Published: May 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I woke up and yes my feel were sore and still are. So today, I headed for some museum action. I started my day at 9:00 and trained all the way to the British Museum where I romed around for a bit and looked at all the exhibits. Last time I was here the Mummy exhibit was pay entry but they have a new pay exhibit on North Americian Natives (so i didn't pay to look at that). For the most part I've seen most of the exhibits from the last time I was in London. So alot of it was just a skim, like the egypt, arab and greek sculputres, they also had exhibits of pottery and glass stuff from all around Europe and an exhibit on money. It was pretty cool seeing all this stuff. They also had a bit of stuff on different cultures from around the world, north america, Africa, China, Indo-China, Japan and Korea.

From here I grabed some lunch at Tesco ( a sandwich, pasta salad and Coke for 4 Pounds) I ate it just outside the Tesco at Picadilly Circus because it was raining pretty bad. I then walked to Trafalgar Square and went to the National Gallery. They have an exhibit there called Manet to Picasso. I saw original works by Monet, Renior, Pissarro, Picasso and Van Gough. Most notiably was Van Gough's Sunflower. I then romed around the halls of the National gallery. My feet were killing me so I sat down and almost fell asleep, a guard approached me before I dozed off.

Now it was really pouring rain so I sat at the gallery some more. When it let up I ended up walking to Buckingham Palace. From Buckingham Palace I took the tube to baker station to go to Madame Tussauds wax museum. I got there at 4:30 but I wanted to get the after 5 pass (16 Pounds instead of 26 Pounds, still expensive). To tell you the truth I cruised through there in like 1 hour ( they close at 6). It was cool to see cause they sculptures look really real. Notiably some of the celebrities are really short. Mel Gibson is like an inch taller then me, same with Tom Cruise. Some of them look more real then some others. The funny thing was I didn't know all the Celebs, cause some are brits. So I wasn't sure what was real and what was fake. You bump into some of them because they just place them all over the floor and you turn around and say sorry but it's just a sculpture. Kinda creepy. To tell you the truth I wasn't overly impressed with the museum. Would I recomend it? Probably no esspecially for the price. Oh yeah, X-tina is super short like less then 5 ft short. I took pics of most of them. They also had politicians. Hitler was a big hit with everyone. They also have a bit of a ride like the kiddy ones in Disneyland about the history of London.

I then turned it in and took the train back to the Flat. I picked up 7 pounds worth of stuff at the grocery store for dinner (Chicken in puff pastry) and brunch tomorrow (sandwich and pasta salad).

That's it. Packed up and ready to hit Lisbon tomorrow. Oh yeah some advil before bed.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb