London Tower


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 29th 2007
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I took another historic turn and visited the London Tower. Alas my baterries died in my camera, so i was able to take more in. I spent a good 5hrs there and it wasn't very busy so sometimes i was in rooms all to myself. I went on a tour with Colin the Beefeater, who was so entertaining and witty, he kept on talking about Brissy and Aussie convicts, and there was three of us from there, the other 2 from Chermside! \he gave us all the gruesome stories about all those that lived there and we went into the church, where those hung on Tower Hill lay, like Anne Boylyn. I then went and looked at the crown jewels. They were set up in the middle of 2 esculators, so i went round twice and had a good look. The vault you walked into would have been about a metre wide. All the towers were full of tiny spiral staircases and quite cold. There were heaps of inscriptions on the wall also, mostly of the prisoners in Henry and Elizabeth I times, like Robert Dudleys. I couldnt remember all the little stories so picked up a guide book. Some rooms were fairly interactive, with footsteps heard, or talking in prayer rooms. All little rooms had stories to tell. I did the White Tower last, mostly full of old artillery, but a floor was dedicated to the Gunpowder Plot and Guy Fawkes, really good seems I'd also read a book on it. Great view to London Bridge here too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb