Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 12th 2019
Published: August 12th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last day in London and I spent it on another day trip. I took the train to Brighton on the English Channel because I have always heard that it is a fun resort town with some historical things to see. Unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate and I had to contend with rain from time to time, so I was not catching the city at its best. The Royal Pavilion was built by the Prince Regent in the early 1800s as a pleasure palace where he could entertain lavishly while waited around to become King George IV. It is impressive and I enjoyed seeing the huge gaudy dining room and the almost-as-big kitchen. Unfortunately photos are not allowed inside, so I had to content myself with a picture
of the outside. The other thing to do in Brighton is walk out on the pier which is filled with arcades, games of chance, and carnival-type rides. If you look out to sea it’s possible to make out a number of wind turbines. And that sums up my day in Brighton. I’m glad to have seen it once, but I doubt if I shall ever come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.634s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.3383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb