Travel to Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
August 13th 2019
Published: August 13th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was a travel day and I am now in a new country, Norway. It feels good to be here, sort of like the REAL start to my trip since I’ve been to London several times before. Actually I’ve been to Norway before, but that was 42 years ago and I’m embarrassed to admit that I don’t remember much about it. I do have positive memories of Bergen, which is where I am now. It is on the west coast and is famous for its cod fisheries and as an access point for the Norwegian North Sea oil rigs. Tourism is also big here because it is located near fjord country. Surprisingly, some of the waterfront warehouses from medieval “Bryggen” still exist, although they now house tourist shops instead of salt cod and trade goods. Another thing that Bergen is famous for is rain. That was evident today, but we Oregonians don’t let a little rain stop us! I’ll be exploring more of the town tomorrow and I will be sure to take my umbrella.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb