London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 4th 2019
Published: August 4th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from London! I have started this year’s trip in London because it’s a great place to get over jet lag and it’s a good jumping off point for my next destination, the Scandinavian countries. Plus, there is always plenty to do here. I chose a hotel in a different part of town from where I’ve stayed before. I am near Paddington Station which is convenient for the London Underground (subway) and also for train travel. There is a new train that runs from Heathrow to Paddington in 16 minutes. The last time I was here, Maggie and I stayed in the South Kensington area and the Underground from Heathrow took nearly an hour. I had a bit of time this afternoon to walk around and I enjoyed seeing the canals in this part of town. The canal boats and families out for a Sunday walk made for a pleasant stroll and I especially liked seeing the “rolling bridge”. It is designed to curve up onto itself to allow boats through, but it is not currently in working order. If you are interested, it’s fun to see the video of it online. I also stopped by the station and took a photo of the Paddington Bear statue. That was it for today. Tomorrow I should have more time and more energy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb