British Library and British Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 5th 2019
Published: August 5th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today started out rainy in London, so I shelved my outdoor plans and decided to see a couple of museums instead. First I took the Tube to the British Library to see the old bibles, manuscripts, maps, etc that are displayed in the Treasures gallery. Entry is free (£5 suggested donation) and I also paid the fee for the interesting special exhibit on the history of writing - from cuneiform up to Apple computers. The rain had stopped by the time I left, so I walked to the British Museum nearby. It was crowded and uncomfortably warm in those galleries where the air conditioning is spotty, but the museum is always rewarding and I concentrated on the displays having to do with Scandinavia since I will be visiting those countries later in the trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.449s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb