Europe's calling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
August 22nd 2012
Published: August 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had a splendid day out in London town on Monday where I managed to glimpse the Eye (enormous!) and take a tour of Shakespeare's Globe. My original plan was to fit in the Tate Modern as well, but time seemed to escape me and it was a choice between that and the Globe. A choice between art and literature? For me literature wins. The Globe was fascinating, even though the reconstruction has some obvious changes that make it suitable to a modern day performance (lighting so performances can be done at night for one thing). I stopped for a while on the Southbank to take in the sites and sounds, and also enjoyed being a spectator to one or two quality street performers.



Tuesday I spent the day with my cousins at their house in Egham (West London). It was a nice and chilled affair and great to just spend some time relaxing and chatting (not to mention a delicious home cooked meal). Today I don't really have a plan (no plan? Me?), but I do have to get ready to start moving up and out of my Aunt's since I head to my hotel tomorrow and then onward to Contiki! So better start the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb