Going my way?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Notting Hill
August 18th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Portobello Market 12 secs
The loneliness has subsided after my day out in London today. I needed a plan since staying in for any extended period of time could lead to boredom. It was a beautiful and very sunny Saturday (apparently it reached 33 degrees) so I decided on Portobello Markets. I find the trains and the tube very simple so far, so had no trouble reached Notting Hill Gate. From there I followed the crowd to Portobello Road, and the market which I know as setting the scene in Notting Hill the film (I was almost expecting Hugh Grant to come around the corner and spill a coffee on me). Alas there were no movie star encounters, but I did find some antique bargains and a cute red dress. It is a huge market, but being alone I was able to manoeuvre through crowds and not stop at every stall, and conquer the entire market and road. At one point the stalls turn into a food market and I picked up a large punet of strawberries for one pound fifty. I had a tasty lunch and then sweated it off in the stifling heat and crowds. I then walked to a station that was about twenty minutes from where the market finished and was on my train line back to the flat in Watford. Soon after I got home Hilary and Ivor headed out for dinner in town with friends. I’ve since chilled out (and cooled down) after a shower and watching my first ever episode of Skins (Bristol here I come!). Soon to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb