London Living - A week in the capital but first breakfast


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Britain on a plateBritain on a plateBritain on a plate

The food here is actually brilliant (particularly in London) and I look forward to reporting on other meals other than bacon, eggs, sausages etc. And in any case what is wrong with a good old fashion fry up anyway?
I arrived back in England yesterday (Saturday 25th October) to a sunny and cold London. The flight across from Milan was easy enough though an early start (4am) was a bit of a challenge.

Saturday was a relaxing day, arriving back at Maidstone with friends Sally and Mick we went for a coffee and some cake before returning to their home. Mick had to work in the afternoon and later on Sally and I took their dogs Basil and Daisy for a walk through the town and into Mote Park.

The Borough of Maidstone is in Kent (did I mention this is in earlier blog entry? Hmm I may have to re-check) and about an hour by train from Victoria or London Bridge Stations. In any case we walked the dogs around the town (dropping off some DVDs on the way) and then through Mote Park as the light began to fade.

The history of Mote Park goes back to the middle aqes apparently and it is a great place to walk around or in my case BE walked around by dogs!

We plan to head out for breakfast this morning (Sunday) for a 'fry-up' before I
Tower BridgeTower BridgeTower Bridge

Nice photo eh? I am very much into sustainability in photography. Thus I'm using one of last year's photos
take the train into Victoria station and then to the apartment I've rented for the week in Empire Square close to London Bridge. I'm looking forward to my week of independent living - staying in hotels or with friends can be challenge when you crave some personal space.

Weatherwise the week ahead looks quite seasonal for London. A forecast top of 8c is expected on Wednesday. Last night the clocks went back an hour so it will be dark before 5pm tonight by all accounts.

This week will be one for catching up with friends and family (my brother Paul) and to plan for the final two weeks of my holiday. The Iberian peninsula is looming large on the horizon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tower Bridge at DuskTower Bridge at Dusk
Tower Bridge at Dusk

Was I contemplating another trip when this photo was taken last year? At the time I would have said no.
A great day for a walkA great day for a walk
A great day for a walk

hmm perhaps not though this does not deter Mick and Sally taking Basil and Daisy for a walk
Crazy!!Crazy!!
Crazy!!

It was wet cold and miserable, however I had nothing else on so why not a walk in the park?
An Apartment ViewAn Apartment View
An Apartment View

Looking down towards London Eye - the view from my living room
London ApartmentLondon Apartment
London Apartment

The living room of my apartment. I have the place until next Sunday.


Tot: 0.348s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb