Off to a great start!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Putney
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Canada-UK


Greetings!

Well, my stopover in London en route to Asia is almost over already - i can't believe it! Let me backtrack a bit...

I flew out of Toronto in style on the evening of June 15th. As I was boarding, a super nice British Airways man said: "Hang on dear - we're going to change your seat. Think of me as you sip your first glass of champagne!" I thought surely he was joking...but nope! He had kindly upgraded me to business class - likely because i was a young woman travelling alone and not so much because i was mistaken for a celebrity. We're talking bottomless champagne, lovely meals, private movies and a seat that reclined into a full-on bed! I was like a kid in a candy store...though i did my best to seem "cool" and unimpressed as i was surrounded by British business men who do this every week. So I held off from taking pictures. I just kept waiting for someone to kick me out of the seat. I couldn't sleep as i was soooo excited! Hehe...

Landed in London early Friday morning and it was sunny and beautiful, as it has been all weekend. Made my way to a friend's flat in Putney and have had an amazing weekend with him, his flatmate and their wonderful group of friends. Highlights include many pubs, a fantastic moroccan kabab house (with a hilarious waiter), many World Cup and rugby games, and my fav - a long day of sport and sun in Wandsworth Park, right on the Thames. And yes of course - frisbee! My goal upon my return to the UK in the fall is to get Ultimate going in this city. A country this obsessed with sport will surely embrace it!?

Photos will be up soon i hope - still trying to figure out how this blog stuff works. On my way to Singapore tonight to meet up with Melissa and begin our SE Asia adventure. Lots more to come in the next few weeks...woohoo!



Advertisement



19th June 2006

travel-writer Laurie :)
Hey lady! ah dude, it's wicked to hear from you! the travels sound fabulous... just wanted to add a quick note that you write a mean travel journal and there is no doubt in my mind that someone should be paying you to do this! Lonely Planet has no idea what they're missing! can't wait to see the pics, xo to you and meliss! happy happy happy travels.......
19th June 2006

Jealousy
I'm green with envy as I read this in the sweltering heat of my home! It sounds like your having a blast and I plan to live vicariously through you as you travel the globe. Keep the blogs coming as I will be with you every step of the way...I'm really looking forward to the pics!
19th June 2006

rock star.
girl, you're like a friggin rock star. you should have trashed your seat and slapped a flight attendant.
20th June 2006

london pubs
were the pints warm or cold? take care for now. x,o
22nd June 2006

Hiya!
LOL =) Gosh, your description of the plane ride was FANTASTIC! It made me think of the 'shopaholic' books! =) I could picture it as if I was there! =) Your few days in London sound like they were wonderful! I'm so glad you had a good time! =) I'd love to hear more details when you have a second! =) Take care of yourself, and have fun starting this new part of your journey! Love, MG
27th June 2006

Foundthe Blog!!!!!!
Yea!!!! Read it....Yourmom loved it ...as we do you!!!!xxxxoooo
28th June 2006

Blogs rock!!!!
You're my hero!!!!!
28th June 2006

SO cool!
This blog is amazing Laur.... looking forward to reading lots more!
8th July 2006

Love it!
First class - you have got to be kidding!! Amazing! I am excited to getthe aisle seat in economy class@!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb