My First Time in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Piccadilly
September 20th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rather than hastily jumping into the lease on that fantastic room in St. Albans, I take the landlady's advice and "have a think on it." I don't know why I agree to think about it when I know for a fact that I'll be just as excited about tomorrow as I am right now. But the uncomfortable look on the landlady's face when I was like, "I'll take it!" makes me think that maybe I'm being too rash.

So I hop the train into London with excitement soaking my spine. I sit by the window and watch the countryside and towns go by. I feel anxious to see my city. Oh London! I've been waiting to see you for so long, and now here I come!

LONDON



Apparently, I have to get off at Kentish Town, because this is where this particular train stops. A nice man informs me that it's not a nice area, and next time I should get off at St. Pancras. Duly noted.

I'm still not in the heart of London yet. There's nothing to see here. I need to get on the Underground, or "Tube". I want to see Leicester Square! Every step of the way, I have to ask 3 people. Piccadilly Line. Westbound. Where the hell is that? People walking so fast past me, narrowly missing me, they might as well be running. I'm overwhelmed. Practically pushed along. I feel very conspicuous and in the way. Looking for a map of the Tube system, trying to read it. Trying to find out what time this Piccadilly train arrives to take me to Leicester Square. I ask people. They're all very helpful and tourist-friendly. (Unlike my experience in Paris, but don't get me started on that.)

LEICESTER SQUARE!

It's like New York! It's so huge and bustling and crowded, but at least it's not as fierce as the Underground. There are some people walking fast, but there are also some lazy strollers, walking arm-in-arm, enjoying the sunny day. Some people sitting in a small park area, laying around, eating. Painters selling their latest works of art. Fashionable women in leather boots and cute jackets that look sooo Jackie Kennedy.

I stop at a stand and buy a map of the city. But after I have it, I realize that I don't want to walk with my face buried in a map. This people-watching is too good! The buildings here are so tall, they almost block out the sun when you walk between them. And beautiful! Old, gorgeous architecture that's nothing like anything we have in Tennessee. I feel so small. Like I just stepped into a movie where everyone else knows what's going on and I don't.

But I'm happy. My eyes look and look, trying not to blink so they don't miss anything! I walk to Piccadilly Circus. Oh, the theatres everywhere! It's like Broadway! I try to catch my breath. There are the red phone booths. And the famous black cabs. I'm getting verklempt. I don't want to leave here, but I don't know what to do. London blows my mind.

As I stand in Piccadilly Circus, my heart pounding with exhilaration, I call the landlady and tell her that I want the room in St. Albans.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb