Getting Out of Luton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
September 20th 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wake up at midnight and can't go back to sleep until 6 AM. So, yet again, I sleep until 11. AGAIN!

I go across the street from the B&B to the convenience store to buy a paper. I look at the Luton newspaper and the paper for Hertfordshire right next to it. To hell with Luton, I think. I buy the Hertfordshire paper. The Indian man who works there, never smiles and speaks unintelligible English knows I'm apartment hunting. He loudly retorts, "This paper is not for Luton!"

I look straight at him and simply say, "I know."

He just looks at me. I look right back at him, offering no more explanation about my purchase. It's none of his damn business. He rings up the paper. As I walk out, I hope it's the last time I have to go in that store.

I call every single ad for St. Albans that seem to apply to me. I'd found St. Albans on different maps, and I remembered that it was south of Luton, but north of London, and right on a train line. I also remember that people seem to say, "Oh, St. Albans. That's a nice area." I'd also heard, "Ooo, St. Albans is expensive!"

Only one lady responds to my call, but we set up an appointment for me to view the house. Yes, it's a 4 bedroom house, and the other 3 rooms are already rented out to other girls. The kitchen, living room, and bathroom are shared. Not quite what I had in mind, but it's worth a shot if it gets me out of Luton.

I realize that viewing the house will probably go rather quickly, so I decide to make my first trip into London afterward. At the Luton train station, I buy an All-Day Travelcard. Seventeen pounds.

The whole...."train thing"...is a bit intimidating, and I feel nervous. Although I have a train schedule, I'm so paranoid that I'm on the wrong train or that I'll miss my stop. Everyone seems impatient with people who don't know what they're doing with regards to the trains. I sit on the edge of my seat looking at the train schedule, following our stops on paper as we stop at them, checking the time constantly, making sure I still have my ticket.

ST. ALBANS



As soon as I step out of the train station, I notice that I'm not the only white person anymore. It's not as loud as Luton, and it's cleaner than Luton. I walk down the street, following the lady's directions to the house. The streets and houses are SO CUTE! I want to live here! I think. I've found my place.

The house is bigger than anything I saw in Luton. The room she shows me is big with a double bed and a huge wardrobe. I probably can't afford this, I think.

"And how much did you say the rent is?" I ask.

"300 per month," she says. Holy shit, that's cheap.

"And how about the deposit?"

"250."

I CAN DO THAT! I try to remain calm. I say, smiling, "This is great! I really want it!"

"Well," she hesitates. "Take some time to think it over, then let me know."

I'm confused. I don't want to think it over. I know this is it. I ask if anyone else has expressed interest in seeing the room. She said yes and she'll be showing the room to a few people very soon. Again, I say, "I'd really like this room. I don't want to lose it."

Again, she says, "Think about it."



Advertisement



Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb