Little Venice, The Prime Meridian, and an Announcement!!!! (plus a west end review)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Why do they make us write papers while studying abroad? One will never know...

This weekend was a very enjoyable and filled with those things on that list that I want to accomplish. My "Bucket List of London" so to say.

Saturday, where I am pretty sure I left you last, was filled with sunshine and a warm breeze. (unlike the snow that is currently hitting Syracuse....oh how that makes me laugh inside...and out). After doing some research on my big paper due Thursday, I met up with Joe and Christian in Little Venice. We walked around the canals and searched for a place to grab some grub, and by grub I mean some italian delicacies. The first week or so a bunch, if not all, of my flatmates and I found a restaurant called, I think, the red pepper. Now I could totally be making that name up, but either way, we stumbled upon it and saw it fitting to go there. The pizza was delicious!!!! And so were my green beans...YUM. I love green beans (in case you care in the slightest bit). I then paid my part of the check and headed out.

I went on a date with Me, Myself, and I. I wanted to have a relaxing and enjoyable night by myself, so I ventured off into Piccadilly Circus hoping to a find a ticket to a show. One of the shows on my list to see before I leave is Sunset Boulevard. I have heard so much about it, but never actually saw it. As I was waiting in line to buy a ticket, a lovely couple approached and said they had two extra ones if I wanted to buy one. They paid 64 pounds and would give it to me half off. I always find those people a bit sketchy even though it was probably legit. Well I turned them down and got up to the counter, asked for a student ticket, paid 20 pounds, got into the theater, and was 3 rows in front of the couple.....feel free to laugh, I did. Not so they could see of course (I hope).

The show was SOOO good. At first I wasn't sure if I was going to like it, but it quickly turned around. Great story, great cast, great voices. One of the people in it was the first person ever to play the lead roles in both Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables. His voice was unbelievable! The show gets 5 out of 5 Gold Bergs.

Sunday came, and Kait, Lindsey and I went on a 1 1/2 hour hike (we got lost) to the Prime Meridian. Out in Greenwich (that probably means nothing to you) is a statue thingy with a line in the ground symbolizing where the Prime Meridian lies. There is a clock that at once counted down to the year 2000, but is now counting up from it. We got in line, which lasted about 15 minutes, took our pictures and then left. It took a while to accomplish this, but it was on the list, and we can now say, and show you with our pictures, that we were there. One of the pics you will see is Lindsey doing her famous "jumping pictures". I had to post this one because of the man who ended up in the picture with her. The whole thing is just too funny. Sunday night ended with working on my paper.....I know, how Londonesque.

I am also pleased to announce: That I have been elected, as of 5 something AM my time, President of University Union, Syracuse University's largest student organization. For those of you who do not know, University Union (UU) is a student programming board which brings the major concerts, comedians, speakers, and cinemas to campus. We also have a great radio station! My good friend Emily, whose birthday just passed if you remember, was elected as Vice-President, and we are both extremely excited to serve next year!!!!!

Parents arrive tomorrow!!!!!!

Trivia Answer: The controversy surrounding Michelle and the Queen has to do with the moment that they put their arms around each other. It is against protocol to touch the Queen...yes, just touch her, but since she put her arm around Michelle first, and since Michelle isn't a "royal servant", then it has been deemed ok.

Trivia Question: How far is Paris from London?

Londoner and thrilled UU President,
Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb