Traipsing in the Fountain


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 14th 2004
Published: June 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Cooling off!Cooling off!Cooling off!

I took a break from gallavanting around the city by cooling off in one of the Trafalgar fountains.
Wow! What a glorious day ... the sun was shining, a slight breeze was blowing, and the sky was a deep blue. I had a fantastic day. I wandered through the city and stumbled upon Buckingham Palace (amazingly, if you could even say that!). In preparation for the Olympic torch's passing through England, the Mall leading up to the palace was lined with large British Flags. It will certainly be an amazing ceremony ... they're beginning to barracade large parts of the area already. I strolled down the Mall towards Trafalagar. As I reached the square, I saw hordes of people in the Square, shading themselves and cooling down in the fountains. I thought, what an idea! So, I joined them. I crawled onto one of the ledges and put my feet in the water. How refreshing! It was just what I needed after walking for a couple hours.
Later on, I attended a show at the Garrick Theatre in Leicster Square. It was written by David Mamet and starred Julia Stiles and Aaron Eckhart. I'm still reeling from it. One of Mamet's trademarks is his lofty, rapid dialogue. I was entranced for most of it despite its somewhat slow beginning.
A British welcomeA British welcomeA British welcome

These flags have been hung on the Mall leading to Buckingham Palace in preparation for the arrival of the Olympic torch.
However, I'm still attempting to reconcile the three acts and the final words. I think I'll need a night of sleep before I can really comprehend all of it.
Well, I have one more full day in this city ... it will have to wait for me until August. Til then!
 

Advertisement



15th June 2004

Bein with Jen J in Blighty rocks!
I just wanted to say it was wicked awesome to be able to hang out with Jen in Canterbury, Brighton and London, it was great for me and am well chuffed it was great for her too. It was fab being able to meet up every day and introduce her to the people I know and love not to mention the Thai I know and love too (Imperial platter, ordered 5 times on consecutive nights not to mention the race to get there in time on the second night! Fun!). I had a blast and I guess she did too and I know that it's just the beginning for her (am seriously jealous now that I'm back at work!).

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb