Ice Skating Tower of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
December 23rd 2005
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

London has loads of outdoor ice rinks in winter. Luke and I booked for an evening at the Tower of London. I was so excited thinking there would be a huge rink running around the Tower within the old moat. Umm... not so, but just as impressive. A rink was set up under pretty little christmas lights and against the backdrop of the Tower, where the English were once able to defend the city of London from.

I did a fair bit of ice skating as a kid. Dad used to take me on weekends and sit there patiently while I spun round and round and often onto my ass! Thanks Dad, it came in handy on this occassion!! Luke was a little bit more hesitant, but got his confidence soon enough. Dudes who obviously know how to skate very well, weave in and out of the crowd making sure everyone is OK and picking up those who aren't. Proud to say I didnt fall, Luke had one little stack, but there were many more that made the ice shake when they hit the deck!!

A really nice night if you can skate or want to try.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb