Before I reached my destination...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Green ParkGreen ParkGreen Park

A morning shot of Green Park (a park that is, yes, green with the beginning of Spring).
Before I reached Bucuresti, I took a very long side-trip that I will now invite you on. I took the first flight to London for exactly one day, most of which I spent sleeping. But I did get out for a couple hours in the morning, so there are a couple pictures of London's oh-so-famous landmarks.

Then, I took a flight from Gatwick, London's least terrible airport after Heathrow, to Milan, Italy. From there I went on to Torino (or Turin, though I think it sounds slightly less than glamourous) and Como, which is most noted for its lake. It was a wild dash through Europe.

I am now in Bucharest, so I will soon return to the main subject of this blog.

We will soon reach our destination. Until then, have a nice flight!


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Picadilly Picadilly
Picadilly

The famous street that ends in a circus. Interesting note, its just called Picadilly, not Picadilly Street/Road/Avenue. Like 12 Picadilly. Strange
DaffodilsDaffodils
Daffodils

Spring was just on the cusp of blooming here.
Detail, PicadillyDetail, Picadilly
Detail, Picadilly

A building detail off of Picadilly, getting closer to the circus.
Nelson's ColumnNelson's Column
Nelson's Column

The very top of it, with Nelson looking down, in Trafalgar Square.
Nelson's Column, detailNelson's Column, detail
Nelson's Column, detail

A detail of the Column's base.
St. Jame's TowerSt. Jame's Tower
St. Jame's Tower

The cusp of the Parliament Building on the River Thames.
Behind a treeBehind a tree
Behind a tree

Detail of St. James's tower behind a tree branch.
The London EyeThe London Eye
The London Eye

The London Eye is on the South Bank of the Thames. It gives you a great view of all the city and is particularly pretty at night. Its right across the river from the Ministry of Defense...but I guess you can't see anything top secret from up there.
WestminsterWestminster
Westminster

The edge of Westminster, including Big Ben and the edge of the Westminster Bridge and a boat.
Westminster, the long viewWestminster, the long view
Westminster, the long view

The entire structure of Westminster along the river Thames.
Westminster BrigeWestminster Brige
Westminster Brige

A view of Westminster Bridge. As I crossed it, someone put a strange piece of art on the sidewalk of an arm that looked ripped off. Not sure what statement was being made.
Big Ben 2Big Ben 2
Big Ben 2

Oh, I can't resist that clock tower...another shot of Big Ben.
Buckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace

A view of Buckingham Palace through the trees of St. James's Park.
Duomo, IDuomo, I
Duomo, I

There are two main things I saw in Milan: The Duomo, which is the central Cathedral in the middle of Milan, is one of them.
Duomo, IIDuomo, II
Duomo, II

A detail of the Duomo.
Duomo, IIIDuomo, III
Duomo, III

A closer detail of the Duomo.
Vittorio Emanuelle II, I MilaneseVittorio Emanuelle II, I Milanese
Vittorio Emanuelle II, I Milanese

The famous shopping center in the same square as the Duomo. Walked through quickly, so I didn't get time to stomp the testicles of the bull (Note: A tradition said to bring luck, not a personal quirk). Um, next time.
Milan CentraleMilan Centrale
Milan Centrale

The second thing I visited everyday was Milan Centrale. The central train station in Milan and a good place for a hot pannini.
Flowers in the Parco SempioneFlowers in the Parco Sempione
Flowers in the Parco Sempione

Some beautiful blooming trees in the Sempione Park.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb