Quit job


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 21st 2009
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

21/3/09
Alright. I’m parked in the lobby of ye ol Sleeping Beauty Motel awaiting my carriage to arrive. Ronan met a girl called Nicky when he came over to the UK last year. She’s married to a guy called Pete who… wait for it… plays Gridiron!!! So they rent a unit further out from London and were subletting it to a guy who apparently had poor dishwashing etiquette. He gave notice a couple of weeks ago so we jumped in and snatched it up. It’s a pretty good deal. Bills included. And it’s in a nice area with a park nearby. It’s going to be great to be able to see further than the next building you know? Gets a bit claustrophobic in the big smoke. Geez how much of a yokel do I sound?
Anyways, we went around there during the week to check it out and ended up consuming a couple of bottles of wine with them. We bonded and they’ve kindly offered to drive us from the motel to their place today. This is particularly helpful as Ronan is at his English test today and I’m not quite up to dragging our combined luggage over there via the tube.

News on the job, in case you didn’t already know, I quit. On one side, WTF??? Hard to get jobs atm, I was only in it for 2 days…. On the other side, my dodgy antennae was going off big time. They were a little too vague and dismissive around things I find important. Like a contract, being paid, letting me know how long the probation period was and reimbursement of some hefty travel expenses. Plus the job was stupid. I was to walk/train to random hospitals and ask to see the commissioner (without an appointment) then peddle my wares. The product was actually pretty awesome and it would be great to see such an individualised, recovery-model, rehab unit in Australia. But still…. Random show ups pissed me off as a dr, I can only imagine how frustrating it would be for busy busy bosses. So I very politely quit. Least I gave it a shot.

Ronan’s jumping through hoop after hoop for his agency, but he should be working within the next 2 weeks. He’s having to get more blood tests and immunisations. Also the previously mentioned English test.

Tomorrow we’re going to have a day off from the whole job-hunting/money worry and go touristing around London. We need a break… cabin fever PLUS!! I’ve been applying for heaps and heaps of jobs. I’d really like to be able to work in a gym actually. I love gyms!! That would be absolutely perfect!!! Been thinking a lot about the whole Med thing. Really at a bit of a crossroads (aren’t we all). I seriously don’t know that I want to keep going. I don’t have anything to prove to myself anymore. I mean if I’d quit in the middle of internship or med school or something, I’d always feel a little ashamed. But I know I can do it now. It’s just I don’t know that the cost is worth it. I think I have an incredible passion for the work but not for being ‘the doctor’. And I never thought that mattered until last year.

Anyways gotta leave the philosophical backflips to the never-present ‘later’ and concentrate of getting a job before my next hair colour is due. J


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb