London in December


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square

My favourite places in London
Aaaah, London, I do love thee. No matter what the weather, or time of year, London never ceases to amaze and entertain. Here it is December and still the tourists walk along the windy streets and river banks with cameras aimed at historic sites. Even when you walk along shopping streets, peoples from every corner of the world are eager to shop and take that touristy shot of the grand things.
When I came into London, I arrived at the train station that had the Harry Potter's platform shrine. Of course, I have to take photo: 9 3/4 ...let the magic begin!
In the morning, I walked along the Thames River and then crossed Tower Bridge. I headed towards the city centre and Trafalgar Square. I discovered that if you let a few years pass, things will change in London. My walk along the Thames river went inland several times when modern buildings commanded the river front and pedestrians had to jog through tight allies. Everything was well laid out, and if you gave up the view of the Thames and walk inland for short bursts, you often could see portraits of old buildings propped up on the cement walls.
When I came to St. Paul's cathedral I decided to catch a bus to the rest of downtown. It is amazing what you can see from the top of a double-decker bus. Yup, I love this city, with its whimsical architecture and noble streets.
The whimsy of Harry Potter somehow fits in the busy traffic of a London city train station. Where else in the world can you stop at an Information booth and ask for the Harry Potter's platform? And the staff are eager to point out the nearby wall.
Throughout the day, I was drawn back to my favourite places in London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Modern TrainsModern Trains
Modern Trains

I have spent enjoyable hours watching British life flow by me as I take the train to next destination.
London CentralLondon Central
London Central

Aaaah, the fountain still pours out in front of the National Art Gallery. I do love Trafalgar Square.
View of the Thames RiverView of the Thames River
View of the Thames River

On my way to find London Bridge, I had to admire the river
FoyerFoyer
Foyer

Towards the Thames, great infrastructure walkways
London Tower PrisonLondon Tower Prison
London Tower Prison

Shot across the road, or should I say, River.
Navy DisplayNavy Display
Navy Display

Aiming towards London Tower, a naval display rests in the Thames river.
London Tower BridgeLondon Tower Bridge
London Tower Bridge

Don't confuse this with London Bridge.....I did, and walked on to a regular bridge over the river. I stopped before I got to the other side, and then headed towards the tower bridge.
Me and London BridgeMe and London Bridge
Me and London Bridge

Sun was shining this way, and the wind was howling the other way. (a very cold day) I'm constantly amazed with the amount of tourists in November.
London BridgeLondon Bridge
London Bridge

Sun was shining towards the bridge.
Bridge and TowerBridge and Tower
Bridge and Tower

Sun accentuated tower
London TowerLondon Tower
London Tower

Take the tour to learn about the dismal history of this prison
Another Tourist ViewAnother Tourist View
Another Tourist View

Yup, watch them Brits skate on thin ice beside London's Tower Prison
Cool ArchitectureCool Architecture
Cool Architecture

Modern buildings beside the Thames
TouristsTourists
Tourists

Even in the chills of December, you will find tourists snapping photos in London
Global food near TowerGlobal food near Tower
Global food near Tower

Who let Colonel Cluck's flag get beside London Tower???
CityCity
City

Old and new blend
Towards St. PaulTowards St. Paul
Towards St. Paul

Walking up from the Thames, heading towards St. Paul's cathedral.
Fire FightersFire Fighters
Fire Fighters

Monument for firefighters during the Blitz, in the back of St. Paul's


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb