Exhausted after a week of hard work!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
January 23rd 2005
Published: January 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!
Last weekend we went to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Bath. We went through a newer tour company, and since it's down season, we were the only people on the tour, which was cool. We had our own personal coach, plus our own tour guide and photographer, Tish. She gave us tons of advise on non-tourist stuff to see in London, which was really nice. I worked 45 hours this week, and I just have to say that it really takes a certain kind of person to enjoy working in retail, and I'm definitly not that person. I get home somedays and realize that I havn't sat down since I woke up. I've had quite a few errands to run during my lunch breaks, so by the time I get home, I've been on my feet for a good 10 hours without sitting. This wouldn't be so bad if I was wearing good sturdy shoes, but since we're a boutique, we were told to try to wear "boutiquey" shoes. By Friday, I decided my feet couldn't hack it any longer, so I wore my tennies, and will continue to until told not to again. Though the job itself isn't the greatest, I work with some really cool girls from all over Europe, and even one from New York. Tom started working on Friday at a Thomas Pink warehouse. I'm pretty sure that we'll both have weekends off, so we'll still get to do some traveling, which was really our goal when getting jobs. Yesterday we went to Oxford for the day and walked around the city and colleges. We ended the day by going to the "Turf Tavern", which is said to be the bar that Bill Clinton "didn't inhale" at. It's a small pub tucked away in a small alley, away from all the tourists, but we managed to find it after walking in the rain for quite a while. Today we went to Canary Warf in London, and also walked around the Tower of London. We're having a great time, and feel like the time is flying by so fast. I hear that MN/WI got dumped with some snow this weekend. We've actually been really lucky with the weather being sunny for our last two trips. I was so happy to get so many emails after not checking my mail for a week-keep them coming, I love hearing from you all and being filled in on what's happening back home. Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb