The walk about continues...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
August 14th 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

After writing my blog last night I headed down to the London Pub, which is the hotel bar, with T and
we had some dinner and some beers. I was a little worried because I still hadn't met my room mates at
this stage and what I had worried about became reality, i was either going to wake them up or they
were going to wake me as strangers.

As it turned out it they were both pretty good blokes and it wasn't too uncomfortable when I came
into the room, a little party from the two pints I had, and we chatted. As it turned out one was
going on another tour and the other was on my tour which was great. We all hit it off straight away
and it wasn't long before we were sharing stories and the tips we had picked up about the town so
far. Unfortunately it WAS long before we got to sleep which sucked because I had purposely exhausted
myself so that I could sleep.

Anyway in the morning I said I had to go the bus tour that I had paid for with the girls the other
day and we made plans to meet up after that and have some beers. With that I ventured off myself
to run a few errands, I have decided that Jerry is going to collect badges from the places that
he goes to and he bought his first today and you can see it in the photos of him. Jerry is already
a big hit and his character is really coming out which is funny, seems he is really enjoying
travelling.

Todays highlights that I wont go into too much detail once again because I think the photos really do that
job was going to London Eye, doing the bus tour everywhere and going to the Sherlock Holmes Pub
and having my first English Ale.

The London Eye was so freakin amazing. It was so high you really couldn't appreciate just how big it
was until you got up the top and had a look around. Jerry got a little scared however.

Next we got on our bus tour which was great. We have really lucked out with the tour guides so far
I'm not sure if I mentioned it in my last post or not but the tour guide from the tour of London
was really funny and engaging and the tour guide on the first bus we jumped on was really good too.
He had us looking at a lot of things that weren't necesserily land marsk but he just liked the place and he had lot of aniquidotes
about different places which were always hilarious. He was the one who put us on to the Sherlock
Holmes Pub and he told me about some of his favourite Ales which was the one I tried in the end
the IPA Green King (that is misspelled feel free to point it out).

After hour first tour bus we jumped on another tour bus. I should explain this was like a tour bus
that had a 24 hour ticket and about 5 different loops around the city. So we jumped on the blue
loop and there we met this American family who we chatted with. I was joking with the Dad asking
him to be the tour guide and he was like "That is a brick house, probably don't have many of them
in Australia" and I was like "Nar mate we make our houses outta straw coz you know there's no
big bad wolves in Australia so they just stay up". At one stage I made up a fact about a building
the girls were just like "Ugh, Wingnut not again" but I got the Mother of the American family hook,
line and sinker which was gold.

A bit later we are meeting up with the rest of our tour mates, and Mark's tourmates too, and we are
all going to have a drink together before our pre departure meeting which I am really looking
forward too but I will have to speak to you more about that tomorrow.

Oh my god I have overspent here, everything is so god dam expensive. Its not too bad because my
budget was based on less money than I actually have so that buffer was there just for that but
I wasn't expecting that to happen so early! But I have booked my extra days at the RN at the end
of the tour so things are starting to pull themselves together for life after the tour which is
good. Also speaking to Mark and walking around the city myself has made me supremely optimistic
that I am going to be alright here as I have seen heaps and Mark said he also saw heaps of signs
looking for work at pubs and different cafe's etc.

All is good, things are sorted and, for the now the walking around London is done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb