These skate shoes were made for walking


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
August 13th 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I have finally arrived. After a trip that I thought was never going to end it was delayed so much, for
christ's sake after waiting for 45 minutes for a clearance to take off from Singapore Airport once we finally got
it there was just a matter of moving the plane behind us so we could take off. Until the freaking tow truck that
went to move it broke down! I mean you just can't make up things like that who is going to beleive you? Flying
over London was amazing, the architecture and town planning is so noticeably different here and this was never
more evident than from the sky.

After touching down an hour and half late at Heathrow airport the great marathon began. Getting through customs
and getting my bag were the easy part. Next I had to meet T in Terminal.....er....well I know it was below mine
which is four and it was odd. After taking the underground tue for the first time to transfer between terminals
(you read that right the place was freakin huge!) I took a punt, figuring I had a 50 50 chance. What I forgot was
that my name was Wingnut Braddy. So after asking the guy in Terminal 1 where AMT coffee was I began the journey
to meet up with T at AMT coffee in Terminal 3.

We sat down and I handed over my first Pounds to pay for my flat white with one, which took me about half an hour
to order because of the gazillion different ways I could have my freakin flat white! I eventually gave up and
asked the lady behind the counter to just make her favourite, with the obligitory wink and hand gun cock to chase
it up.

With that we were off to meet up with Sammy who had a full day of sight seeing planned for us. Bless her heart
she is a champ and is going to be so good for me on this tour with the things she has researched, between her and
T they slipped straight into the Wingnut keepers role with a "This way Wingnut" and "Just hang on Wingnut we
we can't leave because something is about to happen" there.

Once we met up with Sam, we walked, and walked, and walked. We saw everything! First we went down to see the
changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace. This was amazing, not just for the spectical but also because of the
amount of people aroud and how many time the police had to to tell them things before they got the point! Once
again this was one of the things were Sam was really helpful, I and like most of the people there thought it was
over but she made us wait for ages and we got the best photos for it.

After taking a few more happy snaps we decided it was lunch time. We headed to a pub in Traflagar Square and sat
down. Sammy and I decided we wanted something a it London so we got Shepards Pie and I got a pint of Fosters.
Both were really awesome and just what we needed because we had been up since like 5 or 6am and still hadn't had
anything to eat. It was walking to get my second pint and it was then that the gravity of my situation really hit
me, "Shit dude your ordering a pint in a Traflagar Sqaure pub....This is fucking awesome!".

Once we had finished chowing down we headed off towards the London Eye to try and take advantage of the clear in
weather. Yeah we really brought the weather with us, it has been on and off raining all day and it is forecast
for pissing rain and thunderstorms tomorrow, go figure. For those of you out of the know the London Eye is this
massive fairus wheel where the carriages are like big glass pods and you can take photos of the whole city from
them. Unfortunately the line was long and we got lazy so we decided to just take a few photos of Big Ben for now
and go back tomorrow to ride the London Eye.

For now it was off to the Tower of London, by the way all these travels include multiple rides on the tube which
is an experience in itself but difficult to describe other than it just saying it is an underground train, it
really is just one of those things you have to see for yourself. We got really lucky with showing up to the Tower
London we managed to time it so we jumped straight on a tour with this really charismatic "Beef Eater" tour guide
He was hilarious and really informative. I really enjoy tours like that with plenty of laughs and interesting
information. There was so much to see at the Tower of London, including the Crown Jewels, which were amazing. It
was absolutely mind boggling to try and fathome just how much money we were looking at. The show room itself was
this huge vault and T, Sam and I had a great old time making up facts about the things. It started by me making
up facts about things to T and her beleiving me. Like there was all these plaques with the birth and death date
of previous kings and T was like "I wonder why that one only has one date" and I told her it was because that king
was corrinated and killed within his first year. Then later there was this tiny crown and I told her it was that
king's it was hilarious. Anyway, eventually we all just started making up crazy facts about everything.

So now here I am in the Contiki Basement, tired as hell. I had such a whirlwind day I could go on forever about
everything I did and saw. So to save me some time I might just try and let some of the pictures speak for
themselves.

Advertisement



12th September 2008

London rocks!
We visited London last year and decided to go back and stay for a few years one day :D Great city, great people (except for some filthy bastards I'm ashamed to call human) so much to see and do that you NEED a few YEARS to complete the list, bet bored and go home.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb