Night fever or jungle fever?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 12th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a good stint in London our time to leave was bearing upon us. We thought a going away party would be in order and wanted to do something fun. So we decided on ‘The Carwash’ a 1970’s style disco bar. Outrageous outfits and outlandish dancing would be compulsory. People gathered at our flat resplendent in a range of brilliant, funky outfits. Tickles and Pudds from my sisters flat went all out, Tickles found a range of beige and black gear and had the Travolta look spot on. Pudds looked scarily like Elton John, I’m not sure if he was going for that look or not, I hope so for his sake. Most of my outfit came straight from Nicola’s Dad’s closet, he still had stashed away a range of floral shirts and woolen patterned ties that were perfect. The rest of my outfit and all of Nicola’s was purchased from the local second hand store. Nicola found a great pink dress with circle patterns on, while I was chuffed to find some brown pants, it didn’t matter to me that they were almost ¾ pants, the short leg length just let me emphasise my bright green, red laced shoes! I think they are my greatest purchase of all time at only £6.

After a few hours of drinks, nibbles and 70’s tunes to get us in the mood we made our way across town to the Carwash. You’d think you’d get weird looks as you board the tubes and buses, but to be honest London is full of weirdos so people aren’t as easily shocked as you’d think. I also have to mention that while we were walking down the road from the tube station, Nicola and Andre started high fiving a guy, what was random was that it was my friend from back home Jeremy and none of them knew each other, crazy.

Within no time we had found our form and were dominating the dance floor. There were some pretty audacious moves and I think everyone must have stretched beforehand because no one was injured. Although Andre looks like he’s being kneed in the nether regions in one of the photos. There were some outstanding outfits around, a whole group were dressed as superheroes, the best dressed had to be bananaman, I’ve gotta get me one of those costumes.

Later in the evening we lost Joel for a bit and then realized that he was in the swimming pool, … that’s right I said swimming pool! They have lifeguards so it’s sort of safe, but I’m not entirely sure how hygienic it is, I’m sure Joel caught some sort of jungle fever. Getting home was a bit of a nightmare, all the tubes stop at one o’clock so we had to take night buses which seemed to be going in circles, maybe that was just my head. Travolta would have been proud though, we rolled home at around 5am.



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb