Last Day of the Tour


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kate here. Again. Wow, Ian's really lacking on this isn't he? Haha I'll make him update more when we meet up, I promise. :P

So today was the last day of our tour. Biggest bummer of the trip yet: Stonehenge was closed. Just so happens that yesterday was the Summer Solstice and a lot of pagans make the trek to Stonehenge to celebrate. That's all fine and dandy, seeing as their festival is at night, so it shouldn't have bothered us. However, they made SUCH a mess with all of their rubbage (that's trash, to you folks, haha), that the police shut the park down today. Any pagan I have ever met has been SUPER concerned with littering/taking care of the earth, so it surprised me. LAME. We DID drive past it though so I managed a few photos. And the good news is, my mom and I have 2 days here in London so on Monday we scheduled a day tour to Stonehenge. Bad news is it was like 40 pounds, which is like 80 bucks, EACH, so it's pricey but we both really want to see it.

So since the tour is over I figured I'd explain it a little. We were a full bus of 48 people. Most everyone was over the age of 45-50, except for me, two 16 year old boys, and two 19-20ish year old boys, both sets of which were on the trip with their grandparents. We had a bus driver, John Ward, who was SUPER nice, always smiling, and awesome. I'd say he was about 40. Then we had our tour guide, Donovan Friel, who I'd place around 33-36. He was great too! They both went out of their way to make our trip great. We really got to know some nice people, and tonight, even though the tour was over, a bunch of us still met up for dinner at a little pub, and chatted at the bar in the hotel lobby for an extra hour. Really great people...no whiners at all! And everyone was on time. In fact, Donovan even scheduled a special surprise town for us to visit since we were so punctual. The streets were so tiny the bus BARELY fit and we ended up getting lost and couldn't turn around so we BACKED through an intersection! HAHA! Great times.

Today we went to Bath, which is an ancient Roman Bath House right outside of London. It was amazing!! I took lots of pictures...look for those within the next couple days. Then we went to Salisbury, then Stonehenge (kinda), then back to London.

Tomorrow, mom and I are doing a double decker London tour, where we can get off and on as we please. Then Monday is the Stonehenge one and I think we're going to Oxford too (where they filmed Harry Potter!) and Windsor Castle. Then Tuesday we meet up with the boys!

Well my internet time is running out (It's about 6 US dollars for 15 minutes here...hence the brief blogs and no pictures), so I should be going. Hope all is well with you!!

Advertisement



22nd June 2008

Communicating
Tell Ian that he doesn't have to write alot each time. He just needs to let us know they are all right!!!!!!
23rd June 2008

Blogging
Tell my father this is a blog where you put down your travel adventures so you remember even little things that you did; even when you're old like him.

Tot: 0.518s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb