A little less conversation, a little more action please


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
December 8th 2006
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I sure picked the right time to start work because after just three days I got to go to the Direct Line marketing day and then the Christmas party. The marketing day entailed going to the royal institute of architecture in town and listening to 4 guest speakers. It was pretty interesting with people from O2 (a telecommunications company), Yahoo, and The Times.

Once the presenters had finished it was time for the work Christmas party, everyone got dressed into their glad rags and had a few drinks before we were all ushered into limousines to our mystery destination. The limos had a couple of magnums of champagne in each so we supped on those as we got driven around central London.

In the end the limos ended up back at the same building, an orchestra was set up in the foyer and we had drinks and chatted before going through for a delicious meal with more wine. Some awards and presents were given out before we had a performance from Elvis. I didn’t realise it was a guy from work until afterwards; he was bloody good and had all the girls up dancing, like only the king can. The night finished after more drinking and dancing. I was supposed to get a taxi back with another guy from work but he was too hammered and left without me so I had to train home. I made sure I stood up the whole way on the train otherwise undoubtedly I would have fallen asleep and ended up in somebodysgonnastabmesoonsville.

I had a pretty quiet weekend, Sunday I met up with Aaron and Shannon and watched Arsenal versus Chelsea at the Ship and Whale. Was a pretty good game, Chelsea scored at the end to level it 1-1 which was a bit of a bummer. Arsenal haven’t gone too well lately. I think they’ll win the Champions league this year though. We almost witnessed some biffo at the bar, a group of locals weren’t happy with the bar staff and were trying to get over the bar to fill one of them in, was a bit of an eye opener.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

E-Business TeamE-Business Team
E-Business Team

This is the team that I work in.
PaparazziPaparazzi
Paparazzi

All the photos were taken by 3 guys dressed up as Paparazzi.
ElvisElvis
Elvis

This is the guy that did the Elvis impersonation


Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 37; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb