Why backpacking?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
August 27th 2010
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, the big question is: Why Backpacking?
Well, I got bored of having too much money, power and high status in society and decided to go on a fun-filled, hill tribe-visiting exotic debauchery staying in 5* hotels, ocean cruisers..You know usual story.
In reality, I kinda didn't pass my probation period at work - thank God, we gave up our flat with my roomies and I thought, dude, this is time I should do something different with my life - yet again - and spend all that hard-earned money now before I get way too old to do stuff like this!
In bullet points: Friday, lost job. Saturday, sad. Sunday, flights booked.
I was actually lucky to have lost my job, as it gave me enough time to arrange all that crap that I had no idea about when I decided on this.
Going to the Embassies. Having drinks to celebrate this.
Then going to sign up at a doc's (yeye, 1.5 years in London and still I never found time to do this), then arranging the vaccinations. Putting up a tough face, looking brave and strong and fighting with your tears when a big lady approaches both of your arms with giant needles. But, me Big Girl. No cry. Then having drinks to celebrate this.
Sitting home and trying to plan itinerary. Huh, this wasn't that easy, considering that I needed to google where Thailand was. 😱
Having a few say-goodbye lunches, drinks and a party where we celebrated all this with a few drinks.
Conclusion: 29-year old blond girl, no flat, no job, packing her bags and setting up on a trip for 4 months: Thailand-Laos-Vietnam-Cambodia-Malaysia-Singapore-Indonesia, start date: 19th Oct 2010.
And no, I still don't think we drank enough to celebrate this.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th October 2010

Na amr csak 11 nap

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb