having a nice break in Terminal 4....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Heathrow Airport
February 26th 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

20 minutes ago I should have been stepping off the plane into 32 degrees of heat in Nairobi, I had grand plans to visit the national park in the afternoon and maybe stroke a giraffe in the giraffe centre... but no

my plane was delayed initially by 15 minutes due to the plane being late, and when it arrived it had a technical fault so it was delayed a further half an hour but an hour later it was cancelled. This is the first cancelled flight I have ever been on so what happened next was all new to me.

they advised us that they were going to take us out to the bus stop and pile us all on coaches and take us to the park inn all 350 of us! of course then there was a rush to get to the front! We all had to re-enter the country through immigration which was not fun - following lots of people who had just got off of flights also. I then had a little old lady screaming at me "are we going to get compensated?????" I told her to take it up with her travel agent.

when we got to the hotel we all had to queue to check in and get dinner vouchers at with point I started to make friends with people from the flight, cleft lip Surgeons, couples getting married in mombassa and a lovely kenyan lady. I had dinner with the Kenyan lady (Dina) and as we left the restaurant there was still people queuing to check in!

This morning I wanted to be at the front of the queue so I got to the hotel reception at 5.30 (an hour early) along with 2 people that are heading to South Sudan for save the children and a couple holidaying in Mombassa. We all decided to get a taxi and were the first to check in - in fact the coach loads have not arrived yet and guess what the plane due to leave at 9am has been delayed by 1 hour already!

when I came through UK immigration this morning the guy said didnt I see you yesterday so I said "yep I am just loving Terminal 4"

have a lovely day all mine will be spent hopefully in the air otherwise here in T4 again!

bye

Lisa

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb