Heathrow Terminal 5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Heathrow Airport
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Winchester to Philadelphia


Heathrow WildlifeHeathrow WildlifeHeathrow Wildlife

This fell out of a Qantas plane as I was approaching Terminal 5 and nearly scratched my off-side wing mirror.
In order to make sure we don't get lost when we set off for Dubai, Australia and New Zealand in the New Year, on 17 November I made a dummy run to Heathrow Airport, London, England. Our friends Perry and Tatsy had been to Philadelphia to see family and I was only too pleased to offer to collect them on their return. Bit of a challenge to find my way there all on my own, but with the assistance of Fifi (my faithful satnav companion) and some well placed road signs, I was able to get there with very little panic.

Winnall looked really inviting as I waved to Tesco's and Homebase on my way to the M3. The early morning mist had gone, along with the main rush hour traffic, but the road was still very busy with cars, trucks, coaches of all types and colours. Near Basingstoke I managed to overtake a Renault Mégane - the first time I had attempted such a manoeuvre on the M3. After 30 minutes I was very relieved to see Fleet Services looming, as I was fighting fatigue, after such a long drive. Unfortunately I missed the turn and realised to my horror that this was the last services before Heathrow. I bravely drove on with eyelids drooping. Thank goodness I had Fifi with me. "In 800 yards, keep left", Fifi reminded me. This was just what I needed to prompt me to turn off the M3 and join the infamous M25. After a rather dodgy slip-road manoeuvre, I was heading north, with Heathrow Airport signs at regular intervals. There was even a sign for Terminal 5! When Fifi announced the imminence of the turning, I felt confident I would make it. Off the M25, round two or three roundabouts and I was in the car park, feeling mighty pleased with myself. I had found Terminal 5, vitually singlehandedly.

Interesting footnote: After I'd told P & T about my adventures on the M3/M25 (I didn't mention the kangaroos) they told me that America had just elected a new Prime Minister! And I'd been to Heathrow to collect people who'd just been to America! What a small world it is!

Advertisement



25th January 2009

I don't believe it
I don't believe you ever made it to Heathrow at all, especially in those straight lines you drew on the map. You would have hit something and we would never have seen you again whereas we have. PS we will feed the lawn and mow the alsations That should help keep shit off the streets PPS what does publically mean?
26th January 2009

Preposterous suggestion
I find it incredible that my successful attempt to sail singlehandedly up the M3 is being disparaged. On behalf of my backup team who worked tirelessly for months to make this venture possible, I must protest. My research team of AA patrol officers, dog handlers and Hampshire police frogmen not only provided essential information on traffic, stray animals and possible submarine attacks, but also essential emergency surveillance and standby on the day itself. I may have survived unscathed, but spare a thought for my crew, most of whom are still recovering and will live with the trauma of the experience for the rest of their days. Because of this, we shall be departing for Dubai with only a skeleton team of 17 dog handlers, most of whom have never seen a camel or kangaroo in their lives. I hope you will have the decency to inform next-of-kin should the unthinkable happen. James Cook (Capt. Retd.)
2nd February 2009

I still think it should be publicly...
... and not publically. Will you tell Travelblog or shall I?
4th February 2009

Publical humilification
Dear Pedant of Littleton Thank you so much for pointing this out. We do value your contributions here at Travelblog

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb