Travelling to Europe Business Class.... Now I know why you can never go back


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Harrow
November 19th 2013
Published: November 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in England 40 Minutes early after travelling for almost 2 days. It was definitely a long time since I woke up at 6am in Sorrento Victoria on 17/11 Aus time after a great girls weekend, until I went to bed at 8pm on 18/11 in England. Got the tube to my Aunts Place and am now sitting here in South Harrow (Harrow if you are posh and 'arro if you are cockney), one tube station away from where I grew up in Rayner's Lane. We are staying right next to South Harrow market where I used to go spend my hard earned pocket money on a new 'single' by the Beatles or even Deep Purple. I still have these singles at home. .

We were met by my Aunty Gaynor (yes there is another one in the family) who took us to her retirement units, set us up in the guest flat and then cooked us a marvelous meal of Roast Chicken, followed by apple pie.

BUSINESS CLASS EXPERIENCE & FACTS

For those of you thinking of going on a long haul fight, all I can say to you now is to bite the bullet and save up your pennies and go business class. The multitude of hosties & Stewards are trained to remember your name (even if you are not in your seat) and have a habit of filling up your glass with Bollinger Champagne at every opportunity. Champagne or 'Bolly' was my drink of choice for the flight as I knew that Rosanne and the girls from my weekend away would expect me to continue where we had left off.

I am not much of a TV/Movie watcher on flights but managed to watch '42' which is a film about Jackie Robinson, the first Negro to play Major League Baseball, enjoyed Harrison Ford as the owner of the "Brooklyn Dodgers'. Then I had my Johhny Depp fix and watched the violent but funny "the Lone Ranger" Amazing make up on the ancient Tonto..and I wonder how long it took him to practise the old horseman's walk he did during the credits, bow legs and all.

Here are some Business Class Facts:

1. You can fit one and half of a Gaynor sized person in a business class seat....which means you can fit 2 1/2 of you skinny girls in there. this gives you enough space to relax

2. Business Class seats are still hard, but you have more room to wiggle into a better position.

3. There is always a drink to be had, or even a snack.... ask for chocolate and they will bring you a plethora of ferraro rocher and some muesli bars to keep you busy for the rest of the fight.

4. Greg can drink as many glasses of red wine or bourbon and coke that they can bring him.

5. The tv screens are bigger, so that you dont have to squint.

6. Just stand up, put your hand near your seat and look nonplussed and a hostie will materialize to make your bed for you...or pack it up again.

7. The bathroom on the right had aisle of the plane (looking towards the cockpit) is big enough to allow you to join the mile high club (that has you thinking doesn't it).... not that we did, but now we don't have to wonder how they manage to do it.... the bathroom is huge.

8. The bathrooms are stocked with L'Occitane products.... so I spent the whole flight in a cloud of my favourite Lemon Verbena! Made me very happy, and hopefully covered up some of the 'travel' smell'

9. You not only sleep, but because of the room you have, you wake up (and end up your travel experience) feeling refreshed.

10 Food is so much better... instead of a nondescript, odd tasting noodle dish that we have been used to in Singapore Economy, for lunch we had, Satay sticks followed by a Prosciutto salad, followed by a steak (me) or Bream (Greg) Main, followed by a berry meringue dessert then Coffee and chocolates. It was a bit like the "Wafer thin Mint" scene from Meaning of life.

11. The coffee is still gross....Economy of Business the coffee is still bad. (I think us Aussies are just spoilt with good coffee). A first world problem I know.. but I thought I had better warn you. Greg would advise you to stick to the Red wine.. as that is always good.

12. It is still a long trip and you are still tired when you arrive...but you are not exhausted.

That's it for me with this blog, we are doing some winter clothes shopping here in London, then heading off to Alton and Bath. Next blog will be from Bath, with hopefully some photo's

Advertisement



19th November 2013

See you soon!!
I am SUPER jealous right now. I am considering taking out a loan and upgrading my January flight home to BC now.... hmmm P.S. the coffee won't get any better during your stay. P.P.S. See you in a few days!!! :)
19th November 2013

I don\'t know that I can afford to go Business Class when we go to USA, but wish we could!!!!!!
19th November 2013

Sounds wonderful Gaynor! I love for the day I travel Business Class! Keep up the champers take one for the team. Have an amazing time will blog stalk you. Take care Kylie xxx

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb